Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 68
    Like Tree29Likes

    Sky Fibre install diary

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre install diary within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I pinched a VDSL faceplate from work (the pros of working for an ISP, I guess ) Speed ought to ...

    1. #41
      AaronYuri's Avatar
      AaronYuri is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bargoed
      Broadband ISP: BB Un (soon to be Fibre Pro)
      Router: Netgear DGN3500
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre install diary

      I pinched a VDSL faceplate from work (the pros of working for an ISP, I guess )



      Speed ought to go up, because I've been faffing around a little to get the faceplate working and the 'hub' in a good spot.

      Edit: the pings lie. After I moved from BT to Sky's voice and BB network, my ping rose from ~30ms to 50ms. ADSL ping on BBC.co.uk was ~40ms, on FTTC it is now 12ms.


      Sky SR102 for VDSL & DGN3500 providing gigabit LAN and 802.11n.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre install diary

      I would not put too much trust in Speedtest.net, especially the server you are using. I think some of the London servers are set up for Fibre speeds and are supposed to be more accurate. One of our fibre members may point you to one.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #43
      jrfer's Avatar
      jrfer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rushden
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Northants
      Posts
      250
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre install diary

      I always use London, Namisco.
      CBG likes this.

    5. #44
      AaronYuri's Avatar
      AaronYuri is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bargoed
      Broadband ISP: BB Un (soon to be Fibre Pro)
      Router: Netgear DGN3500
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre install diary

      Yeah, Namesco's setup is good. I can get 9+MB/s on Usenet without any trouble at all.

      I will also note that the MTU on the Sky router was, oddly, set to 1500 bytes. I changed it to 1492.


      Sky SR102 for VDSL & DGN3500 providing gigabit LAN and 802.11n.

    6. #45
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre install diary

      You can find your ideal MTU by opening a command prompt and typing ping Google -f -l 1472 If the reply is fragmented, reduce the number by a few bytes until it is unfragmented. When you arrive at the highest figure which does not fragment, add 28 to it and thats your MTU. 1500 is the standard MTU for Sky.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #46
      AaronYuri's Avatar
      AaronYuri is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bargoed
      Broadband ISP: BB Un (soon to be Fibre Pro)
      Router: Netgear DGN3500
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre install diary

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You can find your ideal MTU by opening a command prompt and typing ping Google -f -l 1472 If the reply is fragmented, reduce the number by a few bytes until it is unfragmented. When you arrive at the highest figure which does not fragment, add 28 to it and thats your MTU. 1500 is the standard MTU for Sky.
      ...I did exactly that. I know how to calculate MTU. Anything above 1464 bytes fragments. Add 28 for overhead and you get 1492 bytes.


      Sky SR102 for VDSL & DGN3500 providing gigabit LAN and 802.11n.

    8. #47
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre install diary

      Interestingly I have just done this too and this may have improved things on my setup.

      Normally the speed test results vary a little. This time they were very consistent.

      Thank you. I changed the MTU to 1470, not 1472.




      Also some consistent speedtest results:



      My current setup:

      BTO Modem -> SR101 -> WNDR3800

      I changed the MTU on the WNDR3800. I shall leave it like this for a while to see how things go.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #48
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky Fibre install diary

      We seem to have discussed optimum MTU size for Sky Fibre before!
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-b...-mtu-size.html

      There's a useful guide to working out the (best?) maximum RTU value here:
      ::. Kitz - MTU Tweaking explained .::
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    10. #49
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre install diary

      Thank you speedrite. I had forgotten about that thread.
      speedyrite likes this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #50
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre install diary

      I wonder if for some reason Fibre has a different MTU than ADSL. 1500 has always been the default MTU on Sky ADSL routers.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION