Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 68
    Like Tree29Likes

    Sky Fibre install diary

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre install diary within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; For me using my own router is quite important. Sky equipment is not even close to the current one I ...

    1. #21
      Arec's Avatar
      Arec is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSFGN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Asus RT-N66U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2013
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre install diary

      For me using my own router is quite important. Sky equipment is not even close to the current one I have. Unfortunately I can't yet use all functionality of my Asus. Still have to be connected via Sky router.
      That was one of the reasons from my side for Sky fibre, to have separate modem and router.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      AaronYuri's Avatar
      AaronYuri is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bargoed
      Broadband ISP: BB Un (soon to be Fibre Pro)
      Router: Netgear DGN3500
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre install diary

      I was going to mount the Openreach modem to the wall next to the master socket and then hook it into the DGN and let it and my switches handle the gigabit networking. Instead, it will have to be Sky SR102 > DGN > switches. Poo. The Openreach modem is a lot flatter and would've been easier to hide away. This Sky router may prove difficult to hide away. I hope it has some sort of configuration page so that I can specify network mask and IP scope, or I will be kicking myself.
      speedyrite likes this.


      Sky SR102 for VDSL & DGN3500 providing gigabit LAN and 802.11n.

    4. #23
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,477
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 120 Times in 115 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre install diary

      If you have an openreach engineer bookled he will install an openreach modem

      Dont tell him your router is vdsl2 capable and he will be none the wiser

      The SR102 is just a SR101 with a newer cpu and vdsl2 capable modem
      it can be used in exactly the same way as the SR101 EWAN or MODEM

      I would even put it in ewan only mode before hand incase he gets any bright ideas

      I use my SR102 in ewan mode as i have no interest in the onboard broadcom modem
      and i like to reboot my router often which you cant do with an all in one or dlm will have a fit
      speedyrite likes this.

    5. #24
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre install diary

      You will be able to configure the IP Address range on the SR102 to whatever you like, within reason. From my understanding the guide for the SR101 should be the same for the SR102.

      LAN IP Setup

      Also the DGN3500 is not going to make it easy to run your LAN independently of the SR102. I would normally recommend a cable router. There are a number of 1Gbit routers available with 300mbps (or faster) WiFi on single and dual bands that are suitable. Use this guide to set it all up if you use the native firmware:

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...nk-dir613.html

      There are a number of routers which can be used with their manufacturer's firmware without the BTO Modem. Alternatively many Cable routers can have custom firmware installed which will also let you use the BTO Modem without a Sky router.
      speedyrite likes this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #25
      AaronYuri's Avatar
      AaronYuri is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bargoed
      Broadband ISP: BB Un (soon to be Fibre Pro)
      Router: Netgear DGN3500
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre install diary

      Quote Originally Posted by Shonk View Post
      If you have an openreach engineer bookled he will install an openreach modem

      Dont tell him your router is vdsl2 capable and he will be none the wiser

      The SR102 is just a SR101 with a newer cpu and vdsl2 capable modem
      it can be used in exactly the same way as the SR101 EWAN or MODEM

      I would even put it in ewan only mode before hand incase he gets any bright ideas

      I use my SR102 in ewan mode as i have no interest in the onboard broadcom modem
      and i like to reboot my router often which you cant do with an all in one or dlm will have a fit
      Thanks for that! I will power the router up today and take a look. If I can operate it without the VDSL modem, I'm in.

      Thanks for the info Scubbie, but I have custom firmware on the DGN, with appropriate routing tables and etc already setup for my network. It has the ability to disable the modem, so I am not concerned with it struggling to handle the network one bit.


      Sky SR102 for VDSL & DGN3500 providing gigabit LAN and 802.11n.

    7. #26
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre install diary

      No problem.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #27
      Arec's Avatar
      Arec is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSFGN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Asus RT-N66U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2013
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre install diary

      Quote Originally Posted by Arec View Post
      ...I hope I still be lucky and OR engineer will be full professional. Will see.
      I know I'm quoting myself but it's for reason.
      I had installation today. And I can only say it was disaster from OR site. The man who was in my house was a contractor from Kelly.
      Really now I don't have enough words to say how hard it was for this "engineer".
      It's so long story, and one day I'll describe it in details.
      Enough to say that I explain him that he must give me VDSL modem :-(
      For now image should do the right impression:
      Sky Fibre install diary-fttc.jpg

      He connect it like you see and left house saying "will be back shortly, and I'll clean it out"
      So he didn't, but he sent me SMS that he will be tomorrow to install socket extension.

      Let's wait and see how it will end.
      BTW. This black sticky tape keep socket together mounted to the wall. And he ask me for this tape because he didn't found right mounting screws in his van ....

    9. #28
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre install diary

      W. T. F. !

      (Sorry, but I can't think of anything nice to say)
      speedyrite likes this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #29
      Arec's Avatar
      Arec is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSFGN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Asus RT-N66U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2013
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Indeed Scubbie. When I'll be less 'angry' I'll write all story. Maybe in separate topic.

      Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4

    11. #30
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre install diary

      BTW. This black sticky tape keep socket together mounted to the wall. And he ask me for this tape because he didn't found right mounting screws in his van ....
      It is hard to see how an engineer could fit a VDSL faceplate and not have the longer screws for it, smacks of gross inefficiency. Kelly are not doing themselves, BTO or Sky any favours with the way their engineers are conducting themselves. Yours is not the first complaint about the actions of this company.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION