Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 41
    Like Tree4Likes

    is it really worth upgrading to sky fibre pro?

    This is a discussion on is it really worth upgrading to sky fibre pro? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; and the router is? the white openreach one? and the modem would be my 2504N F@st?...

    1. #31
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: is it really worth upgrading to sky fibre pro?

      and the router is? the white openreach one? and the modem would be my 2504N F@st?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: is it really worth upgrading to sky fibre pro?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      You could try tonight but you won't see anything, however tomorrow morning power cycle your router (not the modem) and you should see the new speeds.
      Just The router?

      Mind you the dslam/msan/whatever they're calling them this week should force a resync on a
      profile change

      Sent from phone blah blah

      - - - Updated - - -

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      You could try tonight but you won't see anything, however tomorrow morning power cycle your router (not the modem) and you should see the new speeds.
      Just The router?

      Mind you the dslam/msan/whatever they're calling them this week should force a resync on a
      profile change

      Sent from phone blah blah

    4. #33
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: is it really worth upgrading to sky fibre pro?

      Yes, just the router. That is the Sagem 2504N.

      The white BTO Modem will automatically resync overnight but the speeds won't show on the router. With Sky the router picks up the speed info from Sky's servers so needs a reboot.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #34
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: is it really worth upgrading to sky fibre pro?

      ...and how does one "power-cycle" their router?? just curious...

    6. #35
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: is it really worth upgrading to sky fibre pro?

      Switch off at mains or unplug chord behind the router.

      The reconnect after say 10 seconds.

      Edit: Just remembered, the Sagem 2504N also has a power button which you can also use. Apologies for the terminology.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #36
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: is it really worth upgrading to sky fibre pro?

      ok, done that....router still shows 39998 dl 10000 up...seems im not getting it tonite then....sigh

      edit: tryed with power button too...no avail

    8. #37
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: is it really worth upgrading to sky fibre pro?

      I have no idea what time it happened but this is what I did when I got mine changed. Other members have found the same when there connections were updated too.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #38
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: is it really worth upgrading to sky fibre pro?

      will wait until tomorrow morning then...
      Scubbie likes this.

    10. #39
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: is it really worth upgrading to sky fibre pro?

      hi, an update...

      i have been up all night, watching the big reunion concert...so i tryed power-cycling my router at 2am dead on, and now my router stats say:

      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 79999 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 20000 kbps

      old stats were:

      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 39998 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 10000 kbps

      so it seems, the upgrade was quick...hence my new signature stats

      i do use HMA VPN Pro, and i tested the speed while running it...and it seems speedtest gives a really crap report of under or dead on 40mb/s, thinkbroadband speedtest gives a more definate report of around 50ishmb/s, BUT if i test speed without HMA VPN Pro running, then i do get the real speed stats, below in my signature...
      Last edited by jdsimp1234; 28-08-13 at 02:42 AM. Reason: more added
      Scubbie likes this.

    11. #40
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: is it really worth upgrading to sky fibre pro?

      Very nice. It will take a few days to settle down once more, but this is 'normal'.

      If you want to use the speedtest.net site, pick either Namesco or Structured Communications in London as these apparently have the bandwidth to support the testing.

      Speedtest.net by Ookla - The Global Broadband Speed Test

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION