Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15
    Like Tree4Likes

    Fibre not what i expected

    This is a discussion on Fibre not what i expected within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; So i have had fibre for a few weeks now and i can say its not worth 20 in my ...

    1. #1
      RADZ1973's Avatar
      RADZ1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01424
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: ASUS DSL-AC68U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Location
      Hastings UK
      Posts
      238
      Thanks
      48
      Thanked 17 Times in 11 Posts

      Fibre not what i expected

      So i have had fibre for a few weeks now and i can say its not worth 20 in my eyes. I am now going back to ADSL i get 10mb and its only 7.50 which i think is better value, ever since i have had fibre I've had nothing but problems. At the moment im getting 29mb and sky estimated me 35mb and they say now that's all i can get. I think they should adjust the price for people who dont get the full speed as i am paying the same as someone who gets 38-39mb which i think is unfair. So friday they are downgrading me must say im relieved as i spent almost everyday on the phone to sky.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,251
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Fibre not what i expected

      Strange. What were the estimated speeds from the BT Infinity site again?

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      RADZ1973's Avatar
      RADZ1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01424
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: ASUS DSL-AC68U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Location
      Hastings UK
      Posts
      238
      Thanks
      48
      Thanked 17 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Fibre not what i expected

      This used to say 38 now it says 33.


    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,251
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Fibre not what i expected

      That would suggest that BT Retail or BTO has recognised an issue locally which cannot be addressed.

      I appreciate that Sky's Fibre is more expensive than Sky's ADSL2+ service. Even so, you appear to be getting below this revised estimate so you have the choice of giving someone te chance to fix it or moving back to ADSL.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    6. #5
      RADZ1973's Avatar
      RADZ1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01424
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: ASUS DSL-AC68U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Location
      Hastings UK
      Posts
      238
      Thanks
      48
      Thanked 17 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Fibre not what i expected

      They have tried to fix it and now say they think this the best i can get so i will revert to ADSL .

    7. #6
      Masai's Avatar
      Masai is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-N66U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Fibre not what i expected

      29mbps is still not bad. I could get 10mbps max on adsl2 too but it used it disconnect randomly, speeds would fluctuate and the upload was only 1mbps. I suppose if you dont need the extra up/ down speeds switching back is the way to go as your saving around 140/ year.

    8. #7
      joe pineapples's Avatar
      joe pineapples is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLBAL. (Balby)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      519
      Thanks
      82
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Fibre not what i expected

      Quote Originally Posted by RADZ1973 View Post
      So i have had fibre for a few weeks now and i can say its not worth 20 in my eyes. I am now going back to ADSL i get 10mb and its only 7.50 which i think is better value, ever since i have had fibre I've had nothing but problems. At the moment im getting 29mb and sky estimated me 35mb and they say now that's all i can get. I think they should adjust the price for people who dont get the full speed as i am paying the same as someone who gets 38-39mb which i think is unfair. So friday they are downgrading me must say im relieved as i spent almost everyday on the phone to sky.
      Tell me about it. My estimate is now 21.9meg (was 22.9 before for some reason), and as you say it is unfair to charge the same as people getting nearly 40meg. I just hope that the system in future will be flexible enough to allow Sky to do a lower end fibre product...maybe 25 down/5 up and charge a fairer amount for that. This is why I've stuck with adsl for now.
      RADZ1973 likes this.

    9. #8
      RADZ1973's Avatar
      RADZ1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01424
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: ASUS DSL-AC68U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Location
      Hastings UK
      Posts
      238
      Thanks
      48
      Thanked 17 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Fibre not what i expected

      Exactly my thoughts i have downgraded to ADSL today should switch over in 24 hours they said. One good thing is they are sending me a new hub so i now have 4 sagem 2504n routers and 2 new hubs lol i am thinking of opening a shop .

    10. #9
      joe pineapples's Avatar
      joe pineapples is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLBAL. (Balby)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      519
      Thanks
      82
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Fibre not what i expected

      Quote Originally Posted by RADZ1973 View Post
      Exactly my thoughts i have downgraded to ADSL today should switch over in 24 hours they said. One good thing is they are sending me a new hub so i now have 4 sagem 2504n routers and 2 new hubs lol i am thinking of opening a shop .
      If/when one of your SR101's is going spare, I'd be happy to cover the postage

    11. #10
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Fibre not what i expected

      I think the simplest explanation for what's happening here is that there's some kind of imperfection along the section of copper cable, between your home & the green street cabinet.

      Your adsl stats immediately prior to switching to fibre were:
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/route...d-gone-up.html
      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10546*kbps 1108*kbps
      Line Attenuation 32.5*dB 18.7*dB
      Noise Margin 5.8*dB 7.7*dB

      Considering a downstream attenuation of 32.5 would usually yield 16mbps+, the line was underperforming by quite lot.
      If i'm right, i'd say you're quite unfortunate that it isn't more severe & therefore a higher priority for sky/bto to rectify.

      I'd also say that you probably have more of a chance of it being fixed while subscribing to fibre than if back on adsl.
      You did start off with 39/8 after all:
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-b...-dlm-work.html

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION