Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Fibre Question

    This is a discussion on Fibre Question within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; How quickly after BT sort Fibre at my exchange can I sign up for Sky Fibre? I've just took outa ...

    1. #1
      bwfc0907's Avatar
      bwfc0907 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      65
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Fibre Question

      How quickly after BT sort Fibre at my exchange can I sign up for Sky Fibre?

      I've just took outa new 12 month broadband contract with Sky as I required a new router, can I still sign for Sky Fibre?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,520
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Fibre Question

      Provided that Sky has the necessary equipment at your exchange, or in some cases a neighbouring exchange, then Sky fibre should be available at the same time or shortly after BT Infinity broadband becomes available.

      Sky tend to turn a blind eye to existing contracts when a new contract would mean more money for them.

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,251
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Fibre Question

      Also Sky will supply you with a new router which will work with the Fibre connection.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    5. #4
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Fibre Question

      Quote Originally Posted by seawright View Post
      Provided that Sky has the necessary equipment at your exchange, or in some cases a neighbouring exchange, then Sky fibre should be available at the same time or shortly after BT Infinity broadband becomes available.

      Sky tend to turn a blind eye to existing contracts when a new contract would mean more money for them.
      I had 6 months left on my Sky Broadband (ADSL) contract when I upgraded to fiber and Sky didn't have a problem with it.

      It's actually one of the reasons I went for FTTC with Sky and not someone else.

    6. #5
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Fibre Question

      Similarly here. I moved house within the first 12 months, realised the ADSL connection was shocking so phoned up and ordered fibre. They just restarted the 12 month contract.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION