Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By Cockney

    Having Fibre installed tomorrow

    This is a discussion on Having Fibre installed tomorrow within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello again, As per the above, i am changing from o2 to sky phone & fibre & just wanted to ...

    1. #1
      Cockney's Avatar
      Cockney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley, Leeds
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Having Fibre installed tomorrow

      Hello again,

      As per the above, i am changing from o2 to sky phone & fibre & just wanted to know what to expect with cabling etc.

      I currently have my o2 router in the middle of the house connected to the bt faceplate so will the fibre be connected to there & will there be any additional cabling that needs to come into the house from outside that will be on show, sorry for the dumb questions

      Thanks,
      Steve


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Having Fibre installed tomorrow

      If that is your master socket, then the modem will be placed there. The modem will need to be connected to your Sky router. This could be up to 30 metres away by using a 'data extension kit'.

      There's no additional wiring coming in to the house. The fibre only runs to the street cabinet and then it's the standard copper wire from there to your house.

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Having Fibre installed tomorrow

      If you prefer, you could always have the BTO Modem next to the socket.

      The link between the BTO Modem and the Sky Hub is an Ethernet cable so you could easily run a 10 or 20m Cat 5e Ethernet cable if you prefer.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    5. #4
      Cockney's Avatar
      Cockney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley, Leeds
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Having Fibre installed tomorrow

      Many thanks for your replies, had it installed this morning which took about 20 minutes. Have run a few speed tests at speedtest.net & it is averaging around 34 down & 7 up so very happy at the moment
      jrfer likes this.

    6. #5
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Having Fibre installed tomorrow

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      If you prefer, you could always have the BTO Modem next to the socket.

      The link between the BTO Modem and the Sky Hub is an Ethernet cable so you could easily run a 10 or 20m Cat 5e Ethernet cable if you prefer.
      Anything up-to 100M should be fine as long as it's decent cable

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION