Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 45
    Like Tree14Likes

    BT Home Hub 5

    This is a discussion on BT Home Hub 5 within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Well BT are soon to offer a Home Hub 5, which has come quickly in the back of the launch ...

    1. #1
      Johnelf's Avatar
      Johnelf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: BT Home Hub 4
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Epsom
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      BT Home Hub 5

      Well BT are soon to offer a Home Hub 5, which has come quickly in the back of the launch of Home Hub. 4. It comes complete with new AC standard technology. I hope the forthcoming new Sky router is equivalent or will they again be left with inferior product. It is also an integrated modem so no need for two boxes and has 4x ghz outputs.

      http://www.btplc.com/News/Articles/S...D-AF49C91E40FE

      John


      Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: BT Home Hub 5

      Does anyone know whether the current sky trial of their new hub as concluded yet?

    4. #3
      Crashst3r's Avatar
      Crashst3r is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Taunton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: BT Home Hub 5

      Quote Originally Posted by mattan View Post
      Does anyone know whether the current sky trial of their new hub as concluded yet?
      Nope we're still trialing it, still a few lil issues but i dont think its gonna be much longer.
      Angel_Rex likes this.

    5. #4
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: BT Home Hub 5

      Quote Originally Posted by Johnelf View Post
      Well BT are soon to offer a Home Hub 5, which has come quickly in the back of the launch of Home Hub. 4. It comes complete with new AC standard technology. I hope the forthcoming new Sky router is equivalent or will they again be left with inferior product. It is also an integrated modem so no need for two boxes and has 4x ghz outputs.

      BT news releases

      John


      Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
      There's a table at the bottom of the page of the link you provided.

      For sky's SR101, it states 'CD less installed' = NO.

      Surely that's wrong?
      If i bought an sr101 tomorrow, i could use it without having to install something from the provided CD, couldn't i?

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: BT Home Hub 5

      What do they mean?

      I think someone has been on the whacky baccie. The Sky Hub SR101 doesn't come with a frigging CD. It doesn't need one.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #6
      stereohaven's Avatar
      stereohaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Asus RT-AC56U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 2TB Box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      495
      Thanks
      33
      Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: BT Home Hub 5

      If this is available when my Sky Fibre contract expires in September then I think I will move to BT rather than Plusnet.

      Yes Plusnet is currently cheaper but I really like the moves BT are making at the moment.

      In terms of looks for the HH5, according to Pocket-lint:

      The design remains the same as the current BT HomeHub 4, except the bar on the front is light blue and from the quick glance we had of the device today, from the exterior we couldn't spot any other changes.
      gymno likes this.

    8. #7
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: BT Home Hub 5

      I see what you did there.

    9. #8
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: BT Home Hub 5

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      What do they mean?

      I think someone has been on the whacky baccie. The Sky Hub SR101 doesn't come with a frigging CD. It doesn't need one.
      BT might as well have added row a to the table that said, "BT Branded", so they could have another green cell under the Hub5!

    10. #9
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL
      Router: Billion 7400
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,491
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 123 Times in 118 Posts

      Re: BT Home Hub 5

      Quote Originally Posted by Johnelf View Post
      Well BT are soon to offer a Home Hub 5, which has come quickly in the back of the launch of Home Hub. 4. It comes complete with new AC standard technology. I hope the forthcoming new Sky router is equivalent or will they again be left with inferior product. It is also an integrated modem so no need for two boxes and has 4x ghz outputs.

      BT news releases

      John


      Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
      Sky seem to be getting left behind in these "home Hub" wars.
      Virgin and BT trying to out-do each other.
      Sky seem to be 2 generations behind either - but I don't know anything about the Sky Hub2.

    11. #10
      simon194's Avatar
      simon194 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDHAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub with Billion 8800NL in bridge mode
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      388
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 35 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: BT Home Hub 5

      Quote Originally Posted by stereohaven View Post
      If this is available when my Sky Fibre contract expires in September then I think I will move to BT rather than Plusnet.

      Yes Plusnet is currently cheaper but I really like the moves BT are making at the moment.
      You would be wise to go with BT rather than PlusNet because Plusnet have problems doing fibre-to-fibre migrations when moving from a LLU provider.
      stereohaven likes this.

     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION