Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20
    Like Tree2Likes

    Sky Fibre - Leave on or turn off?

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre - Leave on or turn off? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Goooner1 I'm with BT infinity, rather than Sky, but presumably the actual modem is the same as ...

    1. #11
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre - Leave on or turn off?

      Quote Originally Posted by Goooner1 View Post
      I'm with BT infinity, rather than Sky, but presumably the actual modem is the same as BT Openreach supplied and fitted it, but it came with a rechargeable back up battery, which powers the modem in case of any power cuts, so I've not had any drops in connection in the year I've had it.
      It will be the same Modem. Sadly Sky's customers do not appear to be getting battery with them.

      Quote Originally Posted by chowgar View Post
      Could it be possible that when the power comes on again, and if the modem was still plugged in and socket was on, the initial surge of power could of affected this also?

      Yikes! Hopefully my modem is the newer version. Better put a battery in my smoke alarm then...
      As I said, those Modems were withdrawn. The customers who had them found that BTO replaced them all for free.

      The Modems supplied now do not appear to have this issue, but the advice is to not block up the vents and to allow the Modem to be wall mounted in order to aid the cooling.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre - Leave on or turn off?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      It will be the same Modem. Sadly Sky's customers do not appear to be getting battery with them.


      Nor to BT customers as far as I know, is it possible the user is one of the lucky few on an FTTP connection rather than FTTC, in which case if they're supplying the Telephony over the fibre the NTE will need backup power to provide 999 service in a power cut, which probably explains the battery.

      They're not going to care if your broadband dies for a few hours.

    4. #13
      toekneem's Avatar
      toekneem is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EASBF
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Fibre - Leave on or turn off?

      They must be , because the fttc Openreach modem does not use batteries as a back up.

      The Openreach fttp modem does use a battery back up, that is required to enable the phone connection in the case of a power cut, not for the operation of the modem.
      toekneem

    5. #14
      Goooner1's Avatar
      Goooner1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Fibre - Leave on or turn off?

      That'll be it then, I am indeed on FTTP, which explains why not everyone is getting the battery backup then.

    6. #15
      geoffwba's Avatar
      geoffwba is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Barr
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Birmingham Great Barr
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre - Leave on or turn off?

      Recent energy saving advice given out on the BBC ( on The One Show) is to switch off your router at night but does it really make that much difference to your electricity bill? I can imagine some folk switching router and modems off and then having connection speed problems. I have always been led to believe it is better to leave both on permanently, which is what I do.

    7. #16
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      I would think the cost saving would be minimal. I'm a believer in always leaving it on.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    8. #17
      albaT4's Avatar
      albaT4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Livingston Station
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Location
      Sky Town
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I leave my sr102 on the whole time, no separate modem so switching off would be a bad idea

      Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4

    9. #18
      simon194's Avatar
      simon194 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDHAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub with Billion 8800NL in bridge mode
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      388
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 35 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre - Leave on or turn off?

      Quote Originally Posted by Goooner1 View Post
      I'm with BT infinity, rather than Sky, but presumably the actual modem is the same as BT Openreach supplied and fitted it, but it came with a rechargeable back up battery, which powers the modem in case of any power cuts, so I've not had any drops in connection in the year I've had it.
      Have you got FTTP because the modem supplied by Openreach for FTTC doesn't have a backup battery?

    10. #19
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre - Leave on or turn off?

      Quote Originally Posted by geoffwba View Post
      Recent energy saving advice given out on the BBC ( on The One Show) is to switch off your router at night but does it really make that much difference to your electricity bill? I can imagine some folk switching router and modems off and then having connection speed problems. I have always been led to believe it is better to leave both on permanently, which is what I do.
      To Hell with that also a lot of smart devices do their update checks overnight.

      Besides if my broadband is down for more than a few minutes it causes an alert to be sent to my email and to my mobile


      Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
      speedyrite likes this.

    11. #20
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre - Leave on or turn off?

      Generally the advice is to leave your Sky router on 24/7.

      For the router switching it on and off reguarly could damage the electrical components as the surge of electric over the cold components in the morning could damage them.

      If you have left your WiFi channel setting to "auto" it will constantly be hunting for the cleanest channel where you live. By switching it off, this would be reset and totally wasted on you should the default channel be noisy and/or busy where you are.

      As this is the Fibre section some may feel it irrelevant to mention ADSL but I will...

      Sky's DLM software monitors the line 24/7 to get the best signal. Switch the router off every night will cause you problems as DLM resets the line during the early hours.

      However with Fibre the problem can be worse. If you have an SR102 please leave it on 24/7 otherwise BTO's DLM will have a hissy fit and could heavily reduce your connection speed if you turn the router off frequently for long periods.

      If you have the SR101 and Sky Fibre then you will have the BTO Modem. The BTO Modem should be left on 24/7 for the same reasons above.

      I did see the article on the BBC about reducing costs. They mentioned that you could save as much as 50 by switch your router off. Perhaps someone who is qualified could answer this for us, but I suspect that this figure is a little too much myself.

      Personally speaking I don't just want a broadband connection, I also want a fast broadband connection that is stable and constant. Switching off the router/Modem everynight IMHO will affect things in a negative manner and I pay more than 50 per year for the service.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION