Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8
    Like Tree2Likes
    • 1 Post By dholdi
    • 1 Post By reddwarfcrew

    Fibre is Here

    This is a discussion on Fibre is Here within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; It appears from both the BT and Sky website that I can now order fibre, well ahead of schedule. Now ...

    1. #1
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Fibre is Here

      It appears from both the BT and Sky website that I can now order fibre, well ahead of schedule.
      Now I am a little suspicious about this as the cabinet I think I am connected to isn't nice and shiny with cooling vents etc.
      I will have to give them a call tomorrow as the webchat agent couldn't really help just now so I'm not getting too excited just yet, we will see what tomorrow brings.
      andrewjr likes this.



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Fibre is Here

      Well they took my order so it must be legit.
      They insisted on sending me a new Sky Hub even though my existing one is only 2 months old.
      The lady said the new one would be fibre specific, funny I thought they were all the same ?
      2 week wait for installation though


    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: Fibre is Here

      The only difference between what you have and what they will send is the packaging. The SR101 has only one version and the firmware is the same for both ADSL and FTTC.

      Still, it pays to have a spare sometime .

      Nice to see another finally able to get Fibre though.

      An advantage of getting it now is that your connection will be very good. Sadly it may drop a little in time if you are some distance from the cabinet. This is due to the cabinet becoming more populated over time.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Fibre is Here

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Nice to see another finally able to get Fibre though.
      Fibre is soooooo overrated (okay, my exchange has been done but not the cabinet). Although I guess it means you'll be able to navigate away from DM's posts quicker.
      dholdi likes this.

    6. #5
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Fibre is Here

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      The only difference between what you have and what they will send is the packaging. The SR101 has only one version and the firmware is the same for both ADSL and FTTC.

      Still, it pays to have a spare sometime .

      Nice to see another finally able to get Fibre though.

      An advantage of getting it now is that your connection will be very good. Sadly it may drop a little in time if you are some distance from the cabinet. This is due to the cabinet becoming more populated over time.
      I thought the routers where the same, but didn't argue, as you say a spare is always handy.

      If I am connected to the cabinet I think I am its about 1/4 mile away so hopefully it shouldn't deteriorate too much.

      I presume I have to ring up to get the 80/20 package, there is no sign of it on the website.

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      Fibre is soooooo overrated (okay, my exchange has been done but not the cabinet). Although I guess it means you'll be able to navigate away from DM's posts quicker.
      Over rated, that feature alone makes it worth every penny.


    7. #6
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,520
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Fibre is Here

      Quote Originally Posted by dholdi View Post
      I'm guessing it will still be a while yet as my cabinet is still the beatup old thing that's been there for years
      Did BT replace that beatup old thing?

    8. #7
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Fibre is Here

      Quote Originally Posted by seawright View Post
      Did BT replace that beatup old thing?
      I'm not 100% sure which cabinet I'm connected to, the one I thought it was hadn't been done earlier this week.

      Meant to have a look this morning but had to take a different route to work.


    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: Fibre is Here

      Quote Originally Posted by dholdi View Post
      I presume I have to ring up to get the 80/20 package, there is no sign of it on the website.
      Yep. Since you have already ordered SFU, if you want to upgrade to SFUP simply call Sky once your connection is live. The upgrade will normally go through over night, but you will be advised that it can take 3 days.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION