Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    Currently use 3rd party router with Sky BB - Just ordered Fibre

    This is a discussion on Currently use 3rd party router with Sky BB - Just ordered Fibre within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Yeh as today has gone on I am wondering if ebaying the Netgear and picking yp something such as an ...

    1. #11
      nl74's Avatar
      nl74 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: strood
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Currently use 3rd party router with Sky BB - Just ordered Fibre

      Yeh as today has gone on I am wondering if ebaying the Netgear and picking yp something such as an airport extreme or other compatible router may be the best option. The netgear is still worth a good amount.

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Currently use 3rd party router with Sky BB - Just ordered Fibre

      only a handful of routers can connected to sky's network out of the box, the billion and the apple airports being couple of them.

      as stated previously you will need to get a router that can handles sky's implementation of MER out of the box or a router that can be re-flashed with DD-WRT/Open-WRT firmware (the TP-Link WR1043ND which is what I use).

      there are various guides on the forum on how to do this. the guide for using an airport router is in my sig below.

      I just checked the DD-WRT database and your routers not listed, which isn't really a surprise as its a ADSL router.
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    4. #13
      nl74's Avatar
      nl74 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: strood
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Currently use 3rd party router with Sky BB - Just ordered Fibre

      netgear is on ebay and I just picked up an airport extreme. Just need to wait for fibre now......

    5. #14
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Currently use 3rd party router with Sky BB - Just ordered Fibre

      Quote Originally Posted by nl74 View Post
      netgear is on ebay and I just picked up an airport extreme. Just need to wait for fibre now......
      oooh, did you get the new version?
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    6. #15
      gmoorc's Avatar
      gmoorc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hawkinge
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2013
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Currently use 3rd party router with Sky BB - Just ordered Fibre

      If it was purely the gigabit LAN that was a concern then another option would have been a gigabit switch connected to the Sky router with all LAN devices connected to the switch.
      That Airport looks nice though

    7. #16
      lnscop's Avatar
      lnscop is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2013
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Currently use 3rd party router with Sky BB - Just ordered Fibre

      Yes the Billion 7800DXL work fine and easy to setup with Sky Fibre but I have to return it due to wifi problem.

    8. #17
      nl74's Avatar
      nl74 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: strood
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Currently use 3rd party router with Sky BB - Just ordered Fibre

      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      oooh, did you get the new version?
      No got the old 5th gen version. Non of my devices are AC and the old one is a bit cheaper and known to work with sky fibre.

      Now that I know that the new one work ok I am maybe regretting that decision!

      - - - Updated - - -

      Quote Originally Posted by gmoorc View Post
      If it was purely the gigabit LAN that was a concern then another option would have been a gigabit switch connected to the Sky router with all LAN devices connected to the switch.
      That Airport looks nice though
      In the end that is what I had to do. So I am wondering if I needed to get a new router anyway! Still the AE looks the business.

      Going gigabit over powerline is not really gigabit and it struggled a bit with 1080p so I ended up putting my NAS and everything else behind the TV running off of gigabit switch.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION