Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Sky Fibre Pro performance issues

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre Pro performance issues within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Have had Sky Fibre Pro for 2 weeks now and am told both by engineer who installed, Sky Cust Serv ...

    1. #1
      mnavarra's Avatar
      mnavarra is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hengoed
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      Hengoed, Wales
      Posts
      151
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Sky Fibre Pro performance issues

      Have had Sky Fibre Pro for 2 weeks now and am told both by engineer who installed, Sky Cust Serv and the fact that the router is synced at 80000down 20000up that i should be getting pretty top end speeds. I know via wireless i can expect a drop of in speed, but how much of a drop off is normal.

      Here is my most recent speedtest results on wireless connection, when located a few metres from the router using my Macbook Pro. I notice i get really big issues using Skype now in terms of call quality.

      Sky Fibre Pro performance issues-82180695.png


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro performance issues

      On wireless you will never get the 80/20 connection speed.

      I found that I could get hugely different results on the same connection with different computers and that it didn't strictly follow that the newest PC get the best results at the time.

      My main laptop at this time has a AMD Athlon II Dual-Core Processor P340. The one which produced the best results at the time has a AMD 3000+ processor. Please take a look at this thread: http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-b...dbye-adsl.html Check out pages 2, 5, 7 (most revealing), 8 & 10 where I discuss the speed results I got.

      Since then I have finally got my new laptop. Originally I had wanted to get one with an i5 processor, but after Amazon let me down & couldn't supply it, I got a different one with an i7 processor. The results in my signature are from this new laptop.

      Also it is very important to know the actual WiFi connection speed that you have. Many devices are not supplied with the faster WiFi adaptors.

      The Sky Hub SR101 supports up to 144mbps on a single channel. I am not familiar with Macbook Pro, but many new laptops are still being supplied with adaptors that support 65mbps or 72mbps (150mbps on a dual channel). You really need an adaptor that supports 300mbps on a dual channel as I'm not sure that there are any which support 144mbps on a single channel.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      mnavarra's Avatar
      mnavarra is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hengoed
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      Hengoed, Wales
      Posts
      151
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro performance issues

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      The Sky Hub SR101 supports up to 144mbps on a single channel. I am not familiar with Macbook Pro, but many new laptops are still being supplied with adaptors that support 65mbps or 72mbps (150mbps on a dual channel). You really need an adaptor that supports 300mbps on a dual channel as I'm not sure that there are any which support 144mbps on a single channel.
      In system setting it says Link Speed (Wireless): 144 mbit/s?

      PS - I have some Homeplugs which i notice don't give me any improvement in download speed when connected up to my Sky HD box at all. I see they are 85mb plugs which i guess means they won't give me what i want now i have this Fibre Broadband? I just bought some 300mb wireless extenders which have ethernet option for wired too. Hope they will help.

      PPS - What can i do to improve the results of pingtest.net which show B+ result? My Skype connection is worse now than ever and the speeds i get are so wide ranging?
      Last edited by mnavarra; 05-06-13 at 03:59 PM. Reason: New info

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro performance issues

      Sell those HomePlugs to some unsuspecting person and get yourself either a nice long Ethernet Cable (Cat 5e would be best) or a pair of 500mbps HomePlugs.

      As much as the 85mbps HomePlugs filled a good gap at a good price in their day, you'll never benefit from the connection speeds you now have.

      What I would suggest though, before messing around with the HomePlugs, would be to connect your Macbook directly to the Sky Hub SR101 and also disconnect the HomePlugs at the same time. Then run some speedtests to see what you get.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      mnavarra's Avatar
      mnavarra is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hengoed
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      Hengoed, Wales
      Posts
      151
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro performance issues

      Had these results when connected via ethernet to macbook pro.




    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro performance issues

      That is more like it.

      Obviously this confirms that the WiFi isn't performing that well in your instance.

      I'm in the process of getting the WiFi adaptor changed in my new laptop. Hopefully in a few day's I'll be able to post something suitable with the new adaptor to see how things are. The adaptor supplied with it was only limited to 65mbps, somewhat short of what I was happy with.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      Johnelf's Avatar
      Johnelf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: BT Home Hub 4
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Epsom
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro performance issues

      I have always said that there would be half the amounts if threads on this forum if Sky supplied a decent router. The router being tested and is at the moment hush hush, may indeed resolve some of these issues when released.
      Come on Scubbie what wireless card you getting? AC compatible?
      i am tempted to buy an Asus AC66U if my Home Hub 4 does not cut the muster!
      John

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro performance issues

      Hopefully it will be an Intel 6230. I don't know which size the laptop requires and as access to the card isn't that easy I've dropped (sorry, not literally) the laptop off at a place to get one fitted.

      If the card is the wrong size, then I guess it will be a different model.

      Which ever one is fitted it will need to support 300mbps on both frequencies and bluetooth.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #9
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,251
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro performance issues

      Quote Originally Posted by mnavarra View Post

      PPS - What can i do to improve the results of pingtest.net which show B+ result? My Skype connection is worse now than ever and the speeds i get are so wide ranging?
      Don't trust pingtest.net too much. I find that if i use Safari (i'm a OSX household) it gives me bad results. If I use chrome however I get a better result (wired of course)

      Also use 'Ping' in Network Utility (OSX only) to get a truer reading of your ping (again wired). See examples below

      Safari *Java disabled hence no reading for packet loss


      Chrome *Java disabled hence no reading for packet loss


      Network Utility

      PING bbc.co.uk (212.58.251.195): 56 data bytes
      64 bytes from 212.58.251.195: icmp_seq=0 ttl=120 time=12.453 ms
      64 bytes from 212.58.251.195: icmp_seq=1 ttl=120 time=12.266 ms
      64 bytes from 212.58.251.195: icmp_seq=2 ttl=120 time=12.461 ms
      64 bytes from 212.58.251.195: icmp_seq=3 ttl=120 time=12.421 ms
      64 bytes from 212.58.251.195: icmp_seq=4 ttl=120 time=12.377 ms

      --- bbc.co.uk ping statistics ---
      5 packets transmitted, 5 packets received, 0.0% packet loss
      round-trip min/avg/max/stddev = 12.266/12.396/12.461/0.071 ms

      PING google.co.uk (173.194.41.120): 56 data bytes
      64 bytes from 173.194.41.120: icmp_seq=0 ttl=58 time=11.985 ms
      64 bytes from 173.194.41.120: icmp_seq=1 ttl=58 time=11.841 ms
      64 bytes from 173.194.41.120: icmp_seq=2 ttl=58 time=11.791 ms
      64 bytes from 173.194.41.120: icmp_seq=3 ttl=58 time=11.878 ms
      64 bytes from 173.194.41.120: icmp_seq=4 ttl=58 time=11.833 ms

      --- google.co.uk ping statistics ---
      5 packets transmitted, 5 packets received, 0.0% packet loss
      round-trip min/avg/max/stddev = 11.791/11.866/11.985/0.066 ms

      It's may be worth me noting that I do not used the Sky supplied router (mine was a Sagem 2504N). I use a TP-Link WR1043ND as the main router handling DHCP, port forwards etc.. and a AirPort Extreme in bridge mode to control the wireless and to act as a switch giving me more ethernet ports
      Last edited by andrewjr; 06-06-13 at 04:33 AM. Reason: formatting and added info
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > Ubiquiti UniFi | 58301/12298


    11. #10
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,482
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 121 Times in 116 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro performance issues

      Most prob just a safari issue its 100% fine for me






      root@Nas:~# ping google.co.uk
      PING google.co.uk (173.194.41.120): 56 data bytes
      64 bytes from 173.194.41.120: seq=0 ttl=57 time=10.813 ms
      64 bytes from 173.194.41.120: seq=1 ttl=57 time=11.345 ms
      64 bytes from 173.194.41.120: seq=2 ttl=57 time=10.984 ms
      64 bytes from 173.194.41.120: seq=3 ttl=57 time=10.837 ms
      64 bytes from 173.194.41.120: seq=4 ttl=57 time=10.986 ms
      64 bytes from 173.194.41.120: seq=5 ttl=57 time=11.067 ms
      64 bytes from 173.194.41.120: seq=6 ttl=57 time=11.017 ms
      64 bytes from 173.194.41.120: seq=7 ttl=57 time=10.898 ms
      64 bytes from 173.194.41.120: seq=8 ttl=57 time=10.791 ms
      64 bytes from 173.194.41.120: seq=9 ttl=57 time=10.643 ms
      64 bytes from 173.194.41.120: seq=10 ttl=57 time=10.742 ms
      64 bytes from 173.194.41.120: seq=11 ttl=57 time=10.930 ms
      64 bytes from 173.194.41.120: seq=12 ttl=57 time=11.032 ms
      64 bytes from 173.194.41.120: seq=13 ttl=57 time=10.946 ms
      64 bytes from 173.194.41.120: seq=14 ttl=57 time=11.055 ms
      64 bytes from 173.194.41.120: seq=15 ttl=57 time=10.937 ms
      64 bytes from 173.194.41.120: seq=16 ttl=57 time=10.833 ms
      ^C
      --- 173.194.41.120 ping statistics ---
      17 packets transmitted, 17 packets received, 0% packet loss
      round-trip min/avg/max = 10.643/10.932/11.345 ms



      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      Don't trust pingtest.net too much. I find that if i use Safari (i'm a OSX household) it gives me bad results. If I use chrome however I get a better result (wired of course)

      Also use 'Ping' in Network Utility (OSX only) to get a truer reading of your ping (again wired). See examples below

      Safari *Java disabled hence no reading for packet loss


      Chrome *Java disabled hence no reading for packet loss


      Network Utility

      PING bbc.co.uk (212.58.251.195): 56 data bytes
      64 bytes from 212.58.251.195: icmp_seq=0 ttl=120 time=12.453 ms
      64 bytes from 212.58.251.195: icmp_seq=1 ttl=120 time=12.266 ms
      64 bytes from 212.58.251.195: icmp_seq=2 ttl=120 time=12.461 ms
      64 bytes from 212.58.251.195: icmp_seq=3 ttl=120 time=12.421 ms
      64 bytes from 212.58.251.195: icmp_seq=4 ttl=120 time=12.377 ms

      --- bbc.co.uk ping statistics ---
      5 packets transmitted, 5 packets received, 0.0% packet loss
      round-trip min/avg/max/stddev = 12.266/12.396/12.461/0.071 ms

      PING google.co.uk (173.194.41.120): 56 data bytes
      64 bytes from 173.194.41.120: icmp_seq=0 ttl=58 time=11.985 ms
      64 bytes from 173.194.41.120: icmp_seq=1 ttl=58 time=11.841 ms
      64 bytes from 173.194.41.120: icmp_seq=2 ttl=58 time=11.791 ms
      64 bytes from 173.194.41.120: icmp_seq=3 ttl=58 time=11.878 ms
      64 bytes from 173.194.41.120: icmp_seq=4 ttl=58 time=11.833 ms

      --- google.co.uk ping statistics ---
      5 packets transmitted, 5 packets received, 0.0% packet loss
      round-trip min/avg/max/stddev = 11.791/11.866/11.985/0.066 ms

      It's may be worth me noting that I do not used the Sky supplied router (mine was a Sagem 2504N). I use a TP-Link WR1043ND as the main router handling DHCP, port forwards etc.. and a AirPort Extreme in bridge mode to control the wireless and to act as a switch giving me more ethernet ports
      Last edited by Shonk; 06-06-13 at 06:17 AM.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION