Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20
    Like Tree2Likes

    Using old sky broadband router (F@ST2304) for fibre optic? Help!

    This is a discussion on Using old sky broadband router (F@ST2304) for fibre optic? Help! within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; There are rumours that Sky may be changing who they use to send out the routers. As far as I ...

    1. #11
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Using old sky broadband router (F@ST2304) for fibre optic? Help!

      There are rumours that Sky may be changing who they use to send out the routers. As far as I know people are still receiving them via Royal Mail.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    2. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      jamie21 (31-05-13)


    3. Advertisement
    4. #12
      simon194's Avatar
      simon194 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDHAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub with Billion 8800NL in bridge mode
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      388
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 35 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Using old sky broadband router (F@ST2304) for fibre optic? Help!

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      @mattan: I know it is annoying, but Sky have a Sagem 2504, Sagem 2304n and Sagem 2504N. Each is quite different to each other. There will be others who are confused if you refer to the Sagem 2504N as a 2504.
      There are two versions of the 2504N, the v6 which is the original ADSL one and v7 which works on both ADSL and fibre.

    5. #13
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Using old sky broadband router (F@ST2304) for fibre optic? Help!

      True, but the difference is strictly limited to the firmware only. Those shipped to customer with ADSL connections had the ADSL only firmware installed. Those sent to SFU customers had the firmware which allowed the routers to work on either connections.

      The new firmware which Sky appears to be rolling out now will, I believe, be sent to all Sagem 2504N routers in due course and will allow them all to work on either ADSL or VDSL connections.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #14
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Using old sky broadband router (F@ST2304) for fibre optic? Help!

      Yep, mine's a v6 2504n from september 2011 & has the new UNI firmware:
      Firmware Version 6.14.6a4N_UNI

      Which incidentally was updated the other day at exactly 2am...
      Quote Originally Posted by jamie21
      It failed at around 2am Wednesday night, the Internet cut off while I was in the middle of an online poker tournament - I panicked and immediately restarted the router. In hindsight I think a firmware update may have been applying?
      Last edited by gymno; 01-06-13 at 11:24 AM.

    7. #15
      BaggieBoi's Avatar
      BaggieBoi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tadley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using old sky broadband router (F@ST2304) for fibre optic? Help!

      Quote Originally Posted by jamie21 View Post
      I couldn't source a replacement router anyway so will have to wait until sky delivers the new one.
      Where are you located? I have a 2504N lying around doing nothing.

    8. #16
      jamie21's Avatar
      jamie21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using old sky broadband router (F@ST2304) for fibre optic? Help!

      Quote Originally Posted by BaggieBoi View Post
      Where are you located? I have a 2504N lying around doing nothing.
      Thanks for the offer mate - but just tried the router recovery again (for the fifth time) - and somehow it managed to work! Not sure why...only thing I did different was having the router connected to just the computer (and not the BTO modem) for the last 24 hours or so. The router setup page shows it as a 2504n but with firmware 5.27.1a4N - guessing that's because I interrupted the firmware update at 2am on wednesday...lesson learnt at least! Thanks for all the help guys
      shakey1980 likes this.

    9. #17
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Using old sky broadband router (F@ST2304) for fibre optic? Help!

      5.27.1a4N is what mine was on until it updated to 6.14.6a4N_UNI a week or two ago (yes at 2am)

      Yours must have been on:
      6.14.1a4N_UNI or
      6.14.2a4N_UNI at the time.

      You need a version 6_UNI firmware for it to work with fibre.

    10. #18
      jamie21's Avatar
      jamie21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using old sky broadband router (F@ST2304) for fibre optic? Help!

      Quote Originally Posted by gymno View Post
      5.27.1a4N is what mine was on until it updated to 6.14.6a4N_UNI a week or two ago (yes at 2am)

      Yours must have been on:
      6.14.1a4N_UNI or
      6.14.2a4N_UNI at the time.

      You need a version 6_UNI firmware for it to work with fibre.
      It seems to be working fine right now though? Connected at the same fiber speeds I was getting before
      shakey1980 likes this.

    11. #19
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Using old sky broadband router (F@ST2304) for fibre optic? Help!

      Hhmmm.
      I'm obviously wrong then, lol.
      It's a new one on me, that!

      Having connected to the BTO modem, are you sure it's still on a v5 firmware?

      I honestly thought a v6_UNI was needed on a 2504n for fibre.

    12. #20
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Using old sky broadband router (F@ST2304) for fibre optic? Help!

      My apologies.
      I was totally wrong.

      5.23.1a4N = 2504n firmware for ADSL only connections. (i must have been on this before)
      5.27.1a4N = 2504n firmware for fibre only connections.

      All of the v6_UNI ones can do both fibre & ADSL.

      My bad.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION