Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 35
    Like Tree1Likes

    Some questions about fibre & the hub?

    This is a discussion on Some questions about fibre & the hub? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hosting a webserver is specifically against Sky's T&Cs. It would be very easy to pick up the kind of traffic ...

    1. #11
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: Some questions about fibre & the hub?

      Hosting a webserver is specifically against Sky's T&Cs. It would be very easy to pick up the kind of traffic associated with such a server too.

      There are plenty of free or very cheap hosts out there who would be able to manage a much better solution for you. I would suggest that you consider this instead.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      mattylad's Avatar
      mattylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCROSS
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Some questions about fibre & the hub?

      OK cheers.

      But where does it say that? their T&C have never been sent to me.

    4. #13
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: Some questions about fibre & the hub?

      Sky's Terms and conditions for Broadband: Sky Terms and Conditions - Broadband

      I am sure that they used to specifically list running a server as being unsuitable. However under section 2 "Using Sky Broadband" is specifically excludes use for business purposes.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    5. #14
      simon194's Avatar
      simon194 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDHAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub with Billion 8800NL in bridge mode
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      388
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 35 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Some questions about fibre & the hub?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Basically when the content is being downloaded their pings go up. Gamers actually require only a limited bandwidth, it is all about speed.
      This is where a router with decent QoS functionality is useful because you can give any games consoles a guaranteed minimum bandwidth.

    6. #15
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: Some questions about fibre & the hub?

      Very true.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    7. #16
      mattylad's Avatar
      mattylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCROSS
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Some questions about fibre & the hub?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Sky's Terms and conditions for Broadband: Sky Terms and Conditions - Broadband
      However under section 2 "Using Sky Broadband" is specifically excludes use for business purposes.
      Ah! so a free community forum or a private website will be no problem as its not a a business lol
      Scubbie likes this.

    8. #17
      mattylad's Avatar
      mattylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCROSS
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Some questions about fibre & the hub?

      OKIKOKI...
      I have finally taken the plunge and ordered.
      Got a date for the 12th July.

      Sorted some interior wiring so all rooms have ethernet points and removed unnecessary extensions from the cabling.

      Current router specs just so I can compare next month.
      System Up Time 26:54:18
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 2941603 3522200 0 53584 180904 04:14:55
      LAN 10M/100M 24296719 16849904 0 25 43856 26:54:13
      WLAN 11M/54M 11049160 15131971 0 23403 18826 26:54:04

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10784 kbps 1088 kbps
      Line Attenuation 20 db 5.5 db
      Noise Margin 5 db 9 db
      DownStream Connection Speed 10784 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 1088 kbps

      Hmm, 1/2 what the downstream speed was this afternoon - must be getting very busy round here.

    9. #18
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Some questions about fibre & the hub?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Sky's Terms and conditions for Broadband: Sky Terms and Conditions - Broadband

      I am sure that they used to specifically list running a server as being unsuitable. However under section 2 "Using Sky Broadband" is specifically excludes use for business purposes.

      The replies in the "Talk to Sky" forum over at BE would suggest that particular T&C isn't likely to be enforced anytime soon, Just don't expect any kind of SLA's if the connection goes down.

      That said, Shared web hosting is Dirt cheap, If you want more control look at either a VPS or dedicated server.

      Prices of course vary depending on the specifications and the quality of the hardware/support, but if you want to go bargain bucket OVH is dirt cheap just don't expect much in the way of support.

    10. #19
      mattylad's Avatar
      mattylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCROSS
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Some questions about fibre & the hub?

      running a website via it was only an idea - not likely to be done this year lol

      At the mo I'm a little concerned why my speed is now 1/2 what it was, its still 10mb.

      EDIT: rebooted and its better now.
      DownStream Connection Speed 20692 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 1168 kbps

      Now is that likely a problem skys end or mine?

    11. #20
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: Some questions about fibre & the hub?

      That download speed is more suitable for the Line Attenuation which you can see in the previous connection stats. Without going through the thread I would guess that by cleaning up your internal wiring you have improve things and DLM has picked it up.

      @Dragon2611: Regarding the Server issue, this will be welcome news for many members. With various free on-line services and many relatively cheap services, I have always considered it better to use an external hosting service.

      Of course there will be some who want to set up their own server at home for many reasons (i.e. studies, practise, small group) and the uploads speeds associated with Fibre finally give this a reasonable chance to work properly now.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION