Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    What is "Standard" on a fibre install

    This is a discussion on What is "Standard" on a fibre install within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; There have been a lot of posts on this site and other forums about what OR engineers can do when ...

    1. #1
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      What is "Standard" on a fibre install

      There have been a lot of posts on this site and other forums about what OR engineers can do when installing fibre and you master socket isn't in the 'right' place. I found a link that shows extracts from a 'best practice' booklet that is given out to engineers.

      https://www.openreach.co.uk/orpg/hom..._engineers.pdf

      Slide 6 clearly states that an engineer can use any combination of the below:

      1. Internal data extension
      2. External data extension
      3. Move of master socket (NTE5)
      4. Swap master and extension

      Just to caveat that this is a document I found on the above site and may have been superceeded by another document so cannot guaranteed its validity. However, it does at least provide some clear instruction to engineers so there should be no need to 'bribe' them with tea and biscuits when they arrive I'll be providing refreshments as part of my hospitality.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,518
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: What is "Standard" on a fibre install

      Is it really bribery? It just makes it more difficult for them to say no. Referring to their installation guide is more likely than not to be counter productive.

    4. #3
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: What is "Standard" on a fibre install

      Quote Originally Posted by seawright View Post
      Referring to their installation guide is more likely than not to be counter productive.
      One would always hope a polite chat is all that's needed. However, this can be another tool in the customer's tool box ...

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: What is "Standard" on a fibre install

      I would suggest that that booklet is current.

      Do read our Fibre FAQ: http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-b...dband-faq.html

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: What is "Standard" on a fibre install

      Would it be worth updating the FAQ to be more explicit about what a customer can ask the engineer to do as part of a 'home wiring solution'? I'm not sure if this would need to be independently verified for inclusion?

      Also, when I spoke to Sky about having this added to the order, the lady said that they have to add it as part of the order process otherwise it does not let them complete the order.

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: What is "Standard" on a fibre install

      I shall look at it later this week. There are quite a few changes with the Fibre products likely to happen in the near future but the FAQ does need to remain up to date.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      Statia's Avatar
      Statia is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What is "Standard" on a fibre install

      Any hint of what kind of changes?

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: What is "Standard" on a fibre install

      Nothing in the rumour mill, but looking at what BTO are making available, I would hope that Sky will be making some changes in the near future.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #9
      Statia's Avatar
      Statia is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What is "Standard" on a fibre install

      What are BTO making available? I see they're throwing in sports TV, but I'm not interested in that.

    11. #10
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: What is "Standard" on a fibre install

      That's BT retail adding in the sports.

      BT Openreach are responsible for the telecoms network. They've recently introduced 'self-install' of FTTC, so I imagine Sky could be adding this as an option when ordering to lower or remove the 50 installation fee.

      UPDATE: As I had my fibre installed yesterday, I can confirm that the OR engineer was happy to move the master socket to another location. This was in the lounge. He drilled through the external wall and connected up the drop wire, then re-connected up the old master making it in to an extension. He even suggested the placement of socket and modem so that it was hidden. Very happy!
      Last edited by mattan; 29-05-13 at 08:26 AM. Reason: Added additional information

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION