Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14
    Like Tree1Likes

    Yay getting fibre installed

    This is a discussion on Yay getting fibre installed within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; After finally what seems like an adventure I have finally been given a date to which I will have a ...

    1. #1
      a_c_harris's Avatar
      a_c_harris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01443
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Yay getting fibre installed

      After finally what seems like an adventure I have finally been given a date to which I will have a BTO engineer come and install the fibre. I moved to sky talk which I did 2 weeks ago and got activated on 21 may and then when I phoned back to see if I could order the fibre as they said I could, I was given the response that I am unable to order as it not available.

      So put through to the fibre department to be fair to the sky agent, she was very good and made every effort to get the order up and going and after her phoning me for 2 days to keep me informed, I could finally order today.

      So 2 weeks time I will be on fibre, ok I wont get the 40 mb and 10 upload maximum speed which is a disappointing, but I will get 28.9 mb download and around 5 mb upload, which is better than my 7 mb I get now, but don't fully understand how it works as other areas which seem further from the exchange can get 60 - 70 mb, but still happy with the speed increase.

      Anthony
      Scubbie likes this.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Johnelf's Avatar
      Johnelf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: BT Home Hub 4
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Epsom
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Yay getting fibre installed

      Well enjoy your fibre connection as and when it comes!
      The speeds with fibre depend on two things mainly.
      What package you have taken from Sky, the usual 40/10 or fibre pro 80/20 for 30 p/m. The second thins is how far away you are from your cabinet in the street, which may me in your street or just round the corner.
      The data comes down fibre cables to the cabinet, then your normal copper wire from cabinet to your home, hence no major re wiring!
      john

    4. #3
      paulm94's Avatar
      paulm94 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      Lincolnshire
      Posts
      79
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Yay getting fibre installed

      Well I have had 40/10 installed since Tuesday and I should be getting full but only get 27Mbps!! but my upload is spot on at 9Mbps so don't hold your breath with the estimated speeds

    5. #4
      Johnelf's Avatar
      Johnelf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: BT Home Hub 4
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Epsom
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Yay getting fibre installed

      Quote Originally Posted by paulm94 View Post
      Well I have had 40/10 installed since Tuesday and I should be getting full but only get 27Mbps!! but my upload is spot on at 9Mbps so don't hold your breath with the estimated speeds
      Is that speed via cable connection or wireless ??
      Try a pc connected via a cable. The estimates are usually on the low and therefore safe side.

      John

    6. #5
      paulm94's Avatar
      paulm94 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      Lincolnshire
      Posts
      79
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Yay getting fibre installed

      Quote Originally Posted by Johnelf View Post
      Is that speed via cable connection or wireless ??
      Try a pc connected via a cable. The estimates are usually on the low and therefore safe side.

      John
      That's cable into back of router for testing speed

    7. #6
      Johnelf's Avatar
      Johnelf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: BT Home Hub 4
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Epsom
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Yay getting fibre installed

      Quote Originally Posted by paulm94 View Post
      That's cable into back of router for testing speed
      Ok
      Sign in to your router 192.168.0.1 using admin and sky as log in details. Then look at what your modem is syncing at?
      You down speed does look on the low side. I see you have a D in your band grade and wonder if this reflects poor wiring outside, which would lower your speed.

      John

    8. The Following User Says Thank You to Johnelf For This Useful Post:

      paulm94 (27-05-13)

    9. #7
      paulm94's Avatar
      paulm94 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      Lincolnshire
      Posts
      79
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Yay getting fibre installed

      Quote Originally Posted by Johnelf View Post
      Ok
      Sign in to your router 192.168.0.1 using admin and sky as log in details. Then look at what your modem is syncing at?
      You down speed does look on the low side. I see you have a D in your band grade and wonder if this reflects poor wiring outside, which would lower your speed.

      John
      Hi thanks for replyI have done that already a far few times my sync is the full 40000 and upstream Is 10000
      What do you mean by the grade D though we're are you looking??

    10. #8
      Johnelf's Avatar
      Johnelf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: BT Home Hub 4
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Epsom
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Yay getting fibre installed

      Opps sorry on your speeds test result it says Grade B not Grade D. I should have gone to spec savers.
      Try this speed test. http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/
      If you are using cable connection, turn your wifi off if using a lap top.
      You should see around 38 down.
      John

    11. The Following User Says Thank You to Johnelf For This Useful Post:

      paulm94 (28-05-13)

    12. #9
      paulm94's Avatar
      paulm94 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      Lincolnshire
      Posts
      79
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Yay getting fibre installed

      Quote Originally Posted by Johnelf View Post
      Opps sorry on your speeds test result it says Grade B not Grade D. I should have gone to spec savers.
      Try this speed test. http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/
      If you are using cable connection, turn your wifi off if using a lap top.
      You should see around 38 down.
      John
      Thanks John no your eyesight was spot on I'm using iPhone app to read forum so does not show signature. So I went in full desktop mode and realised it was a very old speedtest.net signature you was looking at and changed it this afternoon ; )
      Regards to the what you have asked me to try I have already done with the sky fiber team on Friday. I tried the open reach speedtest myself and always seem to get a lower speed when using it than with speedtest.net
      My signature is the latest one now sorry for the confusion. I don't know what else to do. Sky said ring them again on Wednesday after 10 day training period but I don't hold out much hope as after a bit of a google. Fibre doesn't work the same with the dlm as normal adsl it keeps on checking all the time

    13. #10
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: Zen Unlimited Fibre 2
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,251
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Yay getting fibre installed

      Quote Originally Posted by paulm94 View Post
      Thanks John no your eyesight was spot on I'm using iPhone app to read forum so does not show signature. So I went in full desktop mode and realised it was a very old speedtest.net signature you was looking at and changed it this afternoon ; )
      Regards to the what you have asked me to try I have already done with the sky fiber team on Friday. I tried the open reach speedtest myself and always seem to get a lower speed when using it than with speedtest.net
      My signature is the latest one now sorry for the confusion. I don't know what else to do. Sky said ring them again on Wednesday after 10 day training period but I don't hold out much hope as after a bit of a google. Fibre doesn't work the same with the dlm as normal adsl it keeps on checking all the time
      as i mentioned in a post eariler on another thread the spec of your pc/laptop can also influence speed test results. also remember that online speed tests are not 100% accurate in assessing your speed.

      try JD's Auto Speedtester. Make sure that you read the getting started section of the manual and configure it properly.

      you could also try downloading some files i.e Ubunutu (click no download me now at the bottom of the page) or Vista SP2. They should come down arounds 4.6MB/s, if not try downloading the files multiple times simultaneously.
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > Ubiquiti UniFi | 58301/12298


    14. The Following User Says Thank You to andrewjr For This Useful Post:

      paulm94 (28-05-13)

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION