Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18
    Like Tree1Likes

    Training period on FFTC

    This is a discussion on Training period on FFTC within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Is there a training period on sky FTTC as I'm synced at 40/10 when I got it installed today but ...

    1. #1
      paulm94's Avatar
      paulm94 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      Lincolnshire
      Posts
      79
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Training period on FFTC

      Is there a training period on sky FTTC as I'm synced at 40/10 when I got it installed today but can only get about 13Mbps since it was installed. Is it worth rebooting both router and ope reach modem
      I contacted sky and there have sent a report to a 2nd tier support agent and will contact me back in 72 hrs blah blah.
      Is this normal for these speed to be slow for a start


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Training period on FFTC

      10 Days.

      DLM on FTTC is more sensitive to the Modem being disconnected so don't power it off unless you really really need to.

      Things should improve over the next 10 days though.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      paulm94 (21-05-13)

    5. #3
      paulm94's Avatar
      paulm94 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      Lincolnshire
      Posts
      79
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Training period on FFTC

      I had about 35Mbps hardwired this morning but only 18Mbps on wifi

    6. #4
      Gigabit's Avatar
      Gigabit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: ZeN
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Training period on FFTC

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      10 Days.

      DLM on FTTC is more sensitive to the Modem being disconnected so don't power it off unless you really really need to.

      Things should improve over the next 10 days though.
      Incorrect. DLM runs all the time; it never stops

    7. #5
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,651
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: Training period on FFTC

      I though DLM was constant with fibre too!



      dog-man

    8. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Training period on FFTC

      Quote Originally Posted by Gigabit View Post
      Incorrect. DLM runs all the time; it never stops
      My response was to this question:

      Quote Originally Posted by paulm94 View Post
      Is there a training period on sky FTTC...
      I believe I answered correctly.

      Yes DLM is present all the time, but the 'training period' I understand to be 10 days.

      The Fibre DLM is quite sensitive and will adjust the line speed up and down more quickly than on ADSL2+.

      It has been shown that when people have had the Modem reset weeks or months after the training period, DLM can take another 10 days to get the speed back to where it was previously. This shows that there is a 10 day period required for sorting things out.
      Angel_Rex likes this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #7
      Gigabit's Avatar
      Gigabit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: ZeN
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Training period on FFTC

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      My response was to this question:



      I believe I answered correctly.

      Yes DLM is present all the time, but the 'training period' I understand to be 10 days.

      The Fibre DLM is quite sensitive and will adjust the line speed up and down more quickly than on ADSL2+.

      It has been shown that when people have had the Modem reset weeks or months after the training period, DLM can take another 10 days to get the speed back to where it was previously. This shows that there is a 10 day period required for sorting things out.
      No. The so-called 'training period' is just DLM. It doesn't exist on either fibre or ADSL; it is actually the time before one can submit a fault. In the first 10 days, DLM doesn't do anything other than what it normally does. The '10 day training period' is a myth.

    10. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Training period on FFTC

      Ok, but it does need to monitor the line and gather the initial stats so that it can suitably tweak the connection.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Training period on FFTC

      No. The so-called 'training period' is just DLM. It doesn't exist on either fibre or ADSL;
      So the fact that all ADSL lines start at 4Mb with Sky and gradually work up to the optimum speed is a myth? If there were no training period surely it would just start at the maximum speed as it used to do before DLM was introduced?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    12. #10
      simon194's Avatar
      simon194 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDHAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub with Billion 8800NL in bridge mode
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      388
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 35 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Training period on FFTC

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      So the fact that all ADSL lines start at 4Mb with Sky and gradually work up to the optimum speed is a myth? If there were no training period surely it would just start at the maximum speed as it used to do before DLM was introduced?
      ... and FTTC starts at the maximum speed and usually stabilises the line within 2 days sometimes 3 and then monitors the line continuously as detailed in SIN498 section 2.2

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION