Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13
    Like Tree2Likes

    town getting fibre by aug 2013 but....

    This is a discussion on town getting fibre by aug 2013 but.... within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; yes i thought, our wee town is getting fibre put in - can see the wee green cabinets being put ...

    1. #1
      bigj2552's Avatar
      bigj2552 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSGIR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SKY Q HUB
      Sky TV: KODI
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      South Ayrshire
      Posts
      217
      Thanks
      26
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      town getting fibre by aug 2013 but....

      yes i thought, our wee town is getting fibre put in - can see the wee green cabinets being put up as around town..great eh ?....

      well it would be - read on....

      got LLU 20meg from sky just now and our speeds are full whack as we live 50m from the exchange - i can see it out my back window ....

      i had the bt guys up today to fix an intermittent cut out problem i been having over the last 3 months and sky finally caved and sent out bt engineer.
      they install a new line/over head cable, wire thingy cause the other one was worn - great back to fast non cut out connection...

      now mr bt man...you want a coffee and biscuit ? yes he said...

      while you are here - you know bt are bringing fibre to girvan in aug/sept this yr ? -yes they are he said....

      here's me all excited - i should get top whack speeds since i,m 50m away from the exchange then eh eh ??

      er.....sorry to inform you sir but......BUT WHAT ??????

      YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO GET FIRBE HERE - WHAAAAAAAAAAAAT ?

      why ? because you are TO CLOSE to the exchange and your phone line goes from house to pole then direct to the exchange.
      you cant get firbe cause there are no green boxes for you to go through.

      you gotta be joking right ? - he phoned his boss there and then in front of me to confirm - yep, all true.
      all the shops as well that are TO CLOSE to the exchange will not get firbe either.
      and its not just our wee town - this is happening up in big citys like glasgow as well - if your to close to the exchange- you will not get firbe.

      surely they will install SOMETHING at the exchange for those customers that are "to close" ???
      i,m totally GUTTED and mad at same time


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: town getting fibre by aug 2013 but....

      This is a known issue.

      There are those, like yourself, who live too close to the exchange and do not use a Green Street Cabinet so cannot currently get an FTTC (Fibre to the Cabinet) product as there is no cabinet used. There are also some who live in the countryside who may also be connected directly to the exchange too.

      BTO are aware of this and are trying a few different systems to see what they can do to resolve this.
      Angel_Rex likes this.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      bigj2552's Avatar
      bigj2552 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSGIR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SKY Q HUB
      Sky TV: KODI
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      South Ayrshire
      Posts
      217
      Thanks
      26
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: town getting fibre by aug 2013 but....

      hi scubbs long time no speak - you ok ? ;-)

      see you got the new pro - lucky sod.

      hope they come up with something - even the bt guy said all the big shop in major citys will be the same if they to close - thats gonna cause one hell of a stink me thinks

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: town getting fibre by aug 2013 but....

      I'm fine thanks.

      The new connection takes a little while for me to upload a video from my mobile to Dropbox from my phone. I mean is 10 minutes too long?

      Downloading is worse. I can just about put the kettle on before a Linux Distro has completed.
      Angel_Rex likes this.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    6. #5
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: town getting fibre by aug 2013 but....

      Only BT could have something so ridiculous! The inside of the green street cab is nothing really special; I can not think of any reason, other than space, why this equipment could not be mounted inside the exchange.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    7. #6
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: town getting fibre by aug 2013 but....

      It's such an irony. Those so close to the exchange have been enjoying faster ADSL than most for years, but are now being overtaken by those living several miles away!

      Let's hope BT think of something. Maybe they'll get FTTP instead?!

      - - - Updated - - -

      Quote Originally Posted by RUNITDIRECT View Post
      I can not think of any reason, other than space, why this equipment could not be mounted inside the exchange.
      Or just outside the exchange. The exchange could have its very own green cabinet!

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: town getting fibre by aug 2013 but....

      One of the possible solutions being investigated is FTTP in these circumstances.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    9. #8
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: town getting fibre by aug 2013 but....

      Can't see that helping tbh. I'm guessing the issue is the PSTN lines are jumpered at the exchange so fibre is not close by (to a degree!). All the street cabs do is take the feed from the exchange via fibre then distribute via the traditional copper lines. If they stick these customers on FTTP then they will have to run more fibre from the exchange to a new local cab anyway I would think? I can't see them running a fibre to each house, infact that just wouldn't be practical at all I'd say.......
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    10. #9
      klammond's Avatar
      klammond is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMBOSTO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: town getting fibre by aug 2013 but....

      Ironic really. For years and years now, being close to the exchange has afforded customers an unfairly fast connection compared with everyone else. Now the tables have turned, so being close to the exchange gives you an unfairly slow connection. Running fibre direct from the exchange to the premises seems the only real solution.

    11. #10
      simon194's Avatar
      simon194 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDHAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub with Billion 8800NL in bridge mode
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      388
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 35 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: town getting fibre by aug 2013 but....

      Quote Originally Posted by RUNITDIRECT View Post
      Only BT could have something so ridiculous! The inside of the green street cab is nothing really special; I can not think of any reason, other than space, why this equipment could not be mounted inside the exchange.
      Ofcom regulations apparently prevent Openreach from installing FTTC equipment actually inside the exchange building.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION