Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22

    Fibre & Master Socket - Options/Help!

    This is a discussion on Fibre & Master Socket - Options/Help! within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Awesome, I stand corrected! :-)...

    1. #11
      jayhab's Avatar
      jayhab is offline Site Content Team
      Exchange: Connah's Quay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: not any more!
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      480
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Fibre & Master Socket - Options/Help!

      Awesome, I stand corrected! :-)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Fibre & Master Socket - Options/Help!

      Quote Originally Posted by jayhab View Post
      Just a quick question: you mention that there are currently 2 extensions, but you don't specify their uses fully. One in the dining room that you use an extension on to your router, is anything else on this one? Is there anything at all on the other extension?
      If nothing else is connected, you could just remove the existing internal wiring and re-use the existing bt cable to feed through the wall into the lounge, re-siting the master wherever you want. Btw, this is what I did!
      The only possible issue you may have with the other solution is having 2 master sockets, which I've been led to believe was not good...
      The one in the dining room has another phone cable connected to it which runs somewhere, then eventually surfaces in the play room. I'm not sure where the second line from the 'master' goes - I'm suspecting around the house to the back and in by the room next to the kitchen. It's all a bit of a mess!!

      I'd only really need/want the single master socket as this is eventually where both the modem/router and phone would be located. There's no socket near the TV for the Sky box, so this is the only other location that would benefit from an extension in time.

    4. #13
      jayhab's Avatar
      jayhab is offline Site Content Team
      Exchange: Connah's Quay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: not any more!
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      480
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Fibre & Master Socket - Options/Help!

      In that case, i'd be tempted to do as I suggested previously and remove the internal wiring as it is now and re-use the BT cable that is currently in place and route it through the wall into your lounge, cut off the excess and connect it to a new master socket; run everything - phone, router, sky box from there! Much tidier!

    5. #14
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Fibre & Master Socket - Options/Help!

      Would make sense & makes the job EVEN easier!!
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    6. #15
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Fibre & Master Socket - Options/Help!

      I'm off to the hardware store later then to get a big drill bit! I need to check how it's all connected up in the grey box before I start too. One of the many jobs on the list ...

    7. #16
      jayhab's Avatar
      jayhab is offline Site Content Team
      Exchange: Connah's Quay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: not any more!
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      480
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Fibre & Master Socket - Options/Help!

      You shouldn't need to touch anything in the grey box, check inside the first white box in your hall and make a note of which coloured wires are connected to terminals a and b. Disconnect everything and pull the BT cable back outside; drill hole in lounge wall; feed through BT cable; trim length as required; re-wire to new master socket attaching correct coloured wires to the a and b terminals; replace faceplate; Silicon around drilled hole on outside of house; Job done.


      - - - Updated - - -

      Just thought on, if there are no terminals inside the first box in your hall, you may need to check the wire colours connected to terminals 5 & 6 or A & B further along the cable at the 'main sockets'. Like I said - depends what's behind / inside the first box in your hall!

    8. #17
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Fibre & Master Socket - Options/Help!

      Thanks for the advice. I might look to keep that cable in place just in case I mess up the connections!

    9. #18
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,617
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Fibre & Master Socket - Options/Help!

      Just for the record - if you order fibre and there is no power next to the master socket the BT engineer will have to either move the socket or run a fibre extension in order to install the service. He has no other option.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    10. #19
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Fibre & Master Socket - Options/Help!

      Looking at my set up here, s/he may plead with me to move the socket!

    11. #20
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Fibre & Master Socket - Options/Help!

      Hi chaps and chapettes'

      Sorry to hijack the thread...... Have a quick Master socket question.

      I want to move mine, this will require a new drop down the side of my house, into the wall.

      I only want it moving 2 foot or so.

      I have sky fibre unlimited


      Question:

      Can ONLY a BT engineer move this socket? Or could I simply get another phone engineer to install this?

      Many thanks

      Rex

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION