Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 33

    Sky Fibre VDSL Faceplate question

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre VDSL Faceplate question within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Dont want to start a new thread so sorry to but in but i had my install on Saturday and ...

    1. #11
      Chaos66's Avatar
      Chaos66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSBEX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre VDSL Faceplate question

      Dont want to start a new thread so sorry to but in but i had my install on Saturday and the new VDSL faceplate the BTO engineer installed he just screwed it on the front of my master socket is that right ??


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre VDSL Faceplate question

      Can you post a picture of what you have? The original lower front half of the NTE5 comes off, the VDSL plate is plugged in then the original plate is re-fitted to this. The VDSL plate comes with longer screws.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    4. #13
      Chaos66's Avatar
      Chaos66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSBEX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre VDSL Faceplate question

      cheers i will do but do i not have to wait 10 days first before i unscrew the front ?

    5. #14
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre VDSL Faceplate question

      No need to unscrew anything, just post a pic of your master socket as it is now
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    6. #15
      Chaos66's Avatar
      Chaos66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSBEX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre VDSL Faceplate question

      cheers wii do tonight when i get home i am at work today

    7. #16
      sush's Avatar
      sush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2013
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre VDSL Faceplate question

      Thank you all.

      I hope I have not offended or underminded anyone (scubbie).

      Final question. As I am not confident and punching back the extentsions, If I leave my adsl nation xte-2005 will the BTO engineer repunch into a standard plate after install of the VDSL plate?

      I just want to make sure as I have heard that they may not repunch extensions/leave then disconnected?



      Quote Originally Posted by RUNITDIRECT View Post
      As above, the VDSL faceplate does not replace the lower front half of the NTE5, it's an interstitial faceplate(which is where iplate comes from!). All the engineer would need to do is fit a lower front of the NTE5 & fit the extension wiring to this. The VDSL plate has two IDC connections on it, these are for UNFILTERED connections. The XTE2005 is not designed for VDSL, the manufacturer of that plate has a new VDSL2 faceplate available, we have them under evaluation & may offer them in the future. At the moment though we just have the Openreach product, expensive but the best faceplate available, even for ADSL services.

      We hope to move to an area that offers Infinity 2 in the near future, when we do we will probably run some tests so all can see which is the best faceplate to have!

    8. #17
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre VDSL Faceplate question

      Don't worry to much about my comments.

      If you ask the engineer nicely he/she should connect up the extensions to the normal faceplate without any problems. He/she should have the IDC punch tool in a bag and it'll only take 1 or 2 mins.

      Worse case scenrio, put a marker on each group of wires to show which pin/connection they came from (2, 5, 3 or 4) and pick up an IDC punch tool from somewhere such as Maplins.

      Alternatively visit the run-IT-direct site and get one from there. Normally things are dispatched the same day by 1st Class post. It should be with you the very next day.

      There are generally 2 types of IDC tools: disposable or the longer lasting one. They both work, but the disposable one won't last as long.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #18
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre VDSL Faceplate question

      Quote Originally Posted by sush View Post
      Thank you all.

      I hope I have not offended or underminded anyone (scubbie).

      Final question. As I am not confident and punching back the extentsions, If I leave my adsl nation xte-2005 will the BTO engineer repunch into a standard plate after install of the VDSL plate?

      I just want to make sure as I have heard that they may not repunch extensions/leave then disconnected?
      I had an adsl nation faceplate before I had sky fibre installed. when the engineer removed this and replaced it with the VDSL faceplate he reconnected the extension.

      when the engineer turns up just ask him to reconnect all the wires to the new faceplate. as scubbie says it will take him/her seconds to punch them on.
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    10. #19
      Chaos66's Avatar
      Chaos66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSBEX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre VDSL Faceplate question

      Quote Originally Posted by RUNITDIRECT View Post
      No need to unscrew anything, just post a pic of your master socket as it is now
      Here is a pic of my VDSL face plate the BTO engineer installed over the top of my master socket Sky Fibre VDSL Faceplate question-image.jpg

      Excuse the dirty extension lol

      Thanks

    11. #20
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre VDSL Faceplate question

      Quote Originally Posted by sush View Post
      As I am not confident and punching back the extentsions, If I leave my adsl nation xte-2005 will the BTO engineer repunch into a standard plate after install of the VDSL plate?
      I had Sky Fibre installed a few weeks ago.

      The Openreach engineer replaced my XTE-2005 with a VDSL plate and Openreach front bit, plus reconnected my extensions.

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION