Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 46
    Like Tree1Likes

    sky fibre pro

    This is a discussion on sky fibre pro within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by speedyrite I believe that, due to "system incompatibilities", there is a problem moving from fibre on an ...

    1. #21
      Racey43's Avatar
      Racey43 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Location
      Bridgend
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: sky fibre pro

      Quote Originally Posted by speedyrite View Post
      I believe that, due to "system incompatibilities", there is a problem moving from fibre on an LLU provider (e.g. Sky, TalkTalk) to another provider without losing your current phone number. So if keeping your current number is important, you're stuck for now.

      If you're leaving LLU ADSL, I think that's not a problem. It seems to be leaving LLU Fibre and keeping the phone number is a problem.

      The workaround is to get a new line from the new provider (but of course that will give you a new phone number too) and may incur extra cost to you.

      If I've got any of the above wrong, please correct me someone/anyone!
      Plusnet are able to transfer without me changing my phone number.
      I not sure about the technicalities


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      Perhaps it's fixed or an alternative workaround has been found since the issue came to light? Anyway will be interested to hear more about your experience of migration away.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    4. #23
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: sky fibre pro

      I think the previous member who tried to leave Sky was told there would be no problem. The problem arose when PN tried to make the connection and found they couldn't due to something about being on an LLU connection. They found they could not just take the line over, but had to cancel it then re-provision it. It is possible the problem has been solved.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #24
      silus's Avatar
      silus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: sky fibre pro

      So the quarterly results have come and gone, and there is no news about a price change for Fibre Pro.

      Sky really have no interest in being competitive!

    6. #25
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: sky fibre pro

      The focus today seems to have been on "strong financial results, broad product growth delivering good operating performance and rapid growth in take up of new connected TV services". And the creation of 550 new jobs and a deal to secure tennis on Sky Sports.

      The KPI summary is interesting. On-net base continues to rise quarter by quarter - now at 96% (so only 4% are off-net). As does on-net full MPF connections - now at 75% of the on-net base.

      As we know, the acquisition of O2 & BE consumer broadband and fixed line telephony business completed two days ago. I expect the focu will be on that for a few months now. I suppose there might be a broadband product shake-up after that's all been assimilated...
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    7. #26
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: sky fibre pro


    8. #27
      Johnelf's Avatar
      Johnelf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: BT Home Hub 4
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Epsom
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: sky fibre pro

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I think the previous member who tried to leave Sky was told there would be no problem. The problem arose when PN tried to make the connection and found they couldn't due to something about being on an LLU connection. They found they could not just take the line over, but had to cancel it then re-provision it. It is possible the problem has been solved.
      Yep correct! All promised it would be ok, but then it fails a day or two later when they try to place the order. If you do not currently have fibre, then you will be fine. Had email to say wont be resolved until July earliest. They have said I can wait and they will honour there half price deal as and when it can be transferred. New PN prices tomorrow, so that will be interesting.
      john

    9. #28
      Bartlet's Avatar
      Bartlet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: sky fibre pro

      Surely Sky will need to act now following BT's latest move. 26pm for 80/20 fully unlimited and now you get free BT Sports which will normally set you back 15pm.

    10. #29
      Johnelf's Avatar
      Johnelf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: BT Home Hub 4
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Epsom
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: sky fibre pro

      Quote Originally Posted by Bartlet View Post
      Surely Sky will need to act now following BT's latest move. 26pm for 80/20 fully unlimited and now you get free BT Sports which will normally set you back 15pm.
      Plus You now get a Dual Band router, 50 sainsburys card (we shop in Sainsburys anyway) 20 for the first three months and 10 by top cash.

      I have just tried to go to Plus Net but you can't transfer. I am enquiring now to See if BT can take it straight away, if so I am off.

      John

    11. #30
      Bartlet's Avatar
      Bartlet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: sky fibre pro

      ...and almost ubiquitous Wi-Fi coverage verses the rare (and free anyway) Cloud.

      I do like and trust Sky's broadband offerings in contrast to BT which I've always been sceptical about but it's starting to look too good not to jump. A cease and re-provide would be a pain though. If the TopCashBack jumped to 100 like it was a few weeks ago, that could be the final temptation. I'll certainly be keeping an eye on your BTCare thread for (official) replies.

      The free (normally 3 extra) HD versions on the BT Sports channels offer expires 1st August so I think Sky now have a deadline for an improved deal.
      Last edited by Bartlet; 09-05-13 at 08:17 PM.

     

     
    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION