Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22

    Moving master socket or using data extension kit in rented property?

    This is a discussion on Moving master socket or using data extension kit in rented property? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Done nice and simple just ran a data extension cable straight through a couple of walls bish bosh. Only thing ...

    1. #11
      craglyboy's Avatar
      craglyboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving master socket or using data extension kit in rented property?

      Done nice and simple just ran a data extension cable straight through a couple of walls bish bosh.

      Only thing worrying me is that my router is indicating 40mb down and 10mb up, but my laptop is only receiving 14mb download.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,518
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Moving master socket or using data extension kit in rented property?

      Different test sites tend to give different results. I would try Speedtest.net - The Global Broadband Speed Test. It will choose a server but after the first test it will allow you to choose a different server. I would also check to see if there is a different depending on whether you are connecting using wi-fi or ethernet direct to the router.
      Last edited by seawright; 23-04-13 at 03:38 PM.

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Moving master socket or using data extension kit in rented property?

      Mentioning 'laptop' suggests you are using wireless. Turn the wireless off and plug in an ethernet cable and check your stats. If there is a substantial difference you may need to set the channel on the router manually. If there is little difference you will probably be stuck in the 'wait 10 days trap'.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Moving master socket or using data extension kit in rented property?

      I think Scubbie will have a few pointers on this as she's just moved to fibre.

      You can check the thread: http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-b...dbye-adsl.html

    6. #15
      craglyboy's Avatar
      craglyboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving master socket or using data extension kit in rented property?

      Like I said I logged into the router through using the standard IP address 192.168.0.1 checked the stats of the router and its indicating 40Mb download and 10 Mb upload.

      When I use speedtest.net using a reliable server it still only has D/L of 12-13Mb.

      I know I'm on wireless but I sit around 1.5M away from the router the wireless shouldnt cause such a drop surely.

      I know that the internet the router is receiving the desired internet, why isnt that being translated to the internet I want my computer to recieve.

    7. #16
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,518
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Moving master socket or using data extension kit in rented property?

      Quote Originally Posted by craglyboy View Post
      I know I'm on wireless but I sit around 1.5M away from the router the wireless shouldnt cause such a drop surely.
      The only way to be sure is to try using an ethernet cable and switch off the routers wi-fi to prevent misleading results.

    8. #17
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Moving master socket or using data extension kit in rented property?

      As mattan has suggested, please do read the thread I started.

      The most surprising result I got was that I managed to get such a huge range of results depending on the computer I used, let alone whether it was via Ethernet or Wireless.

      Sure it helps to have a modern computer, but I found my oldest PC provided the best results.

      For the short time I had 40/10 I managed to achieve 17 d/l via WiFi from my main laptop. It was around 2m from the router at the time. The loss of speed is down to the encryption and decryption of the transmission, as well as possible outside interference. I only achieve 30mb via Ethernet with the same computer.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #18
      craglyboy's Avatar
      craglyboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving master socket or using data extension kit in rented property?

      Connecting via Ethernet I get download of 38.5 mb and upload of 9.5mb so definetly nothing wrong with the Internet coming into the house.

      I read over your results, but I still find it hard to believe that there can be so much lost speed from just having a wireless connection.

    10. #19
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Moving master socket or using data extension kit in rented property?

      It might be worth downloading inSSIDer to see if the channel you are using is congested with other wireless devices, moving your router to use a less congested channel.

      There are so many variables with wireless, including the different types of wireless card in your laptop.

    11. #20
      craglyboy's Avatar
      craglyboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving master socket or using data extension kit in rented property?

      Again i have a killer gaming network Card (honestly that's what it's called don't laugh) which receives 5ghz and 2.4ghz frequencies.

      I do live in a block of flats and I use inssider I'm on channel 1 and so are many others but as I understand it its better to share channels than cross over 2 networks on 2 different channels.

      With my previous Internet I got 2mb download regardless of over wifi or cabled

      - - - Updated - - -

      Currently I am downloading wirelessly at 21mb but up loading at 9.8mb why is there so little loss in upload and not download

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION