Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 29 of 29
    Like Tree3Likes

    New Huawei Firmware

    This is a discussion on New Huawei Firmware within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am now wondering if i would get any significant speed increase if i went for the 80/20 product now. ...

    1. #21
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: New Huawei Firmware

      I am now wondering if i would get any significant speed increase if i went for the 80/20 product now.
      Doesn't the Modem stats tell you your maximum attainable rate?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      andijames's Avatar
      andijames is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Huawei Firmware

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Doesn't the Modem stats tell you your maximum attainable rate?
      Good question! Not sure to be honest as every time i've been into the modem i've not had it connected to the internet (due to placement of where my desktop and master socket are). I'll see if i can figure a way out of connecting to it whilst it's still connected

    4. #23
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,651
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: New Huawei Firmware

      How do you find your max attainable rate?


      dog-man

    5. #24
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: New Huawei Firmware

      Quote Originally Posted by dog-man View Post
      How do you find your max attainable rate?


      dog-man
      its under status > wan > xdsl
      Angel_Rex likes this.
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    6. The Following User Says Thank You to andrewjr For This Useful Post:

      andijames (18-04-13)

    7. #25
      Daveeyt's Avatar
      Daveeyt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Huawei Firmware

      I'm surprised anyone would use third party firmware in this, and also in any router , couldnt this open up a host of security issues with backdoor file access.
      now I can do nothing 40 times faster


    8. #26
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: New Huawei Firmware

      Quote Originally Posted by Daveeyt View Post
      I'm surprised anyone would use third party firmware in this, and also in any router , couldnt this open up a host of security issues with backdoor file access.
      In theory someone could build a modified firmware to redirect requests somewhere nasty, if you're that worried about it download the GPL sources and build your own firmware.

      It's just as possible the manufacturer's firmware could include such backdoors.

      You have to trust someone eventually or you'd never run any software, incase of accessing Files on your network that shouldn't be possible with the Huawei's as you're not connecting them directly to your LAN they're on the WAN side of your router/firewall.

    9. #27
      chrcol's Avatar
      chrcol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leics Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: 8800nl(bridge) + pfSense 2.4 N3150 unit + asus ac68 as WAP
      Sky TV: FreeSAT
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Leics
      Posts
      262
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: New Huawei Firmware

      Firmware provided by asbokid who is a trusted member of the uk broadband community so the firmware is safe. He posts regurly on some other forums.

    10. #28
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,651
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: New Huawei Firmware

      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      its under status > wan > xdsl

      If my maximum attainable download rate is 83mb, how come I am only synced at 71mb?

      Shouldn't I sync at the max rate possible?


      dog-man

    11. #29
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: New Huawei Firmware

      Quote Originally Posted by dog-man View Post
      If my maximum attainable download rate is 83mb, how come I am only synced at 71mb?

      Shouldn't I sync at the max rate possible?


      dog-man
      If it's the same as ADSL routers then the Max attainable rate often assumes a 0db SNRM, which you really wouldn't want!

      0db noise margin would mean the slightest bit of noise or interference would cause your error rates to spike massively and probably cause a resync.

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION