Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 29
    Like Tree3Likes

    New Huawei Firmware

    This is a discussion on New Huawei Firmware within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; How easy is it to hack the modem and then flash the firmware? dog-man...

    1. #11
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,651
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: New Huawei Firmware

      How easy is it to hack the modem and then flash the firmware?



      dog-man


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      wantage will's Avatar
      wantage will is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wantage
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Location
      Wantage
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: New Huawei Firmware

      Quote Originally Posted by dog-man View Post
      How easy is it to hack the modem and then flash the firmware?



      dog-man
      easy to do.
      http://huaweihg612hacking.files.word...tions_v1-3.pdf

    4. #13
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,651
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: New Huawei Firmware

      I am not sure that I have located this latest firmware that may or may not increase my sync speed.
      Can somebody make it clear which firmware I should be downloading and installing?


      dog-man

    5. #14
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: New Huawei Firmware

      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    6. The Following User Says Thank You to andrewjr For This Useful Post:

      dog-man (13-04-13)

    7. #15
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,651
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: New Huawei Firmware

      I did think it was that one but wanted to be sure.

      I shall probably unlock and flash my modem tonight or tomorrow..

      I also have downloaded the original just in case I ever need to revert back to the original.

      One more question....

      If I have read the info correctly, if at any time after flashing this new firmware there is a power cut or I do a long press on the reset button, the modem reverts to its original firmware with default settings.

      Or will it just revert to default settings with the firmware that I have flashed?


      dog-man

    8. #16
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New Huawei Firmware

      A long reset will only restore default settings, not the actual firmware. That will have to be flashed back using the same "unlocking/flashing" process.

    9. The Following User Says Thank You to dgilbert2 For This Useful Post:

      dog-man (13-04-13)

    10. #17
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,651
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: New Huawei Firmware

      OK, Thanks.


      dog-man

    11. #18
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: New Huawei Firmware

      Quote Originally Posted by Angel_Rex View Post
      Anyone else tried the new HG firmware?

      Seems most major improvements are on lines over 500m long
      Yes, although I sync at 80/20 anyway so it hasn't made much difference.
      Angel_Rex and Scubbie like this.

    12. #19
      andijames's Avatar
      andijames is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Huawei Firmware

      Just updated my firmware last night and have seen a nice boost too.

      I originally connected at around 35M down and 7M up (which is a miracle considering how far i am from the box) and now connect at 39.5M down and 8.5M up! Seems rock solid too (this sync was done around 6PM) so it does indeed seem to help people who are quite far from the street boxes.

      I am now wondering if i would get any significant speed increase if i went for the 80/20 product now. If i'm getting pretty much max on this do you think i would get any significant increase in the 80/20 product? I know this is mainly based on distance so i'm unsure.

    13. #20
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: New Huawei Firmware

      It is unlikely that you'll get a huge benefit by upgrading to the 80/20 product.

      Essentially the 40/10 product is capped at these speeds. If you are struggling to get 40/10 (or just getting it like you are now) then the capping isn't really doing much.

      To check what your potential might be, take a look at the BT Infinity site.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION