Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Anyone else's fibre down?

    This is a discussion on Anyone else's fibre down? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Woke up this morning with no connectivity. The openreach modem in synced with the cab but the sagecom router isn't ...

    1. #1
      Mr Mot's Avatar
      Mr Mot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CMCAN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Anyone else's fibre down?

      Woke up this morning with no connectivity.

      The openreach modem in synced with the cab but the sagecom router isn't connected to sky, imagine its an authentication error.
      Nothing has changed over night, have tried the usual reboots etc.

      Cannock exchange (01543 dialling code)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Fab Fibre (Sky network)
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,407
      Thanks
      414
      Thanked 167 Times in 161 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Anyone else's fibre down?

      All working here in Worcestershire (at present!) Nothing on Sky Service Status page for Cannock. Is the phone line working? Otherwise, I wonder if it's possibly one of those "reluctantly reboot the Openreach modem" moments?
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    4. #3
      Mr Mot's Avatar
      Mr Mot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CMCAN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Anyone else's fibre down?

      I've reluctantly already done that haha.

      I got to work 2 miles away and found out we'd had a power outage over night, it may be down to that.

      No enough time for investigation this morning.

    5. #4
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Fab Fibre (Sky network)
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,407
      Thanks
      414
      Thanked 167 Times in 161 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Anyone else's fibre down?

      Quote Originally Posted by Mr Mot View Post
      I've reluctantly already done that haha.
      "Reluctant" is the word when it comes to rebooting the OR modem! Mine's only ever been off due to 2 or 3 shortish power cuts over the past (almost) 12 months since installation.

      - - - Updated - - -

      Just noticed this:
      http://helpforum.sky.com/t5/Fibre-Broadband/Authentication-issue/td-p/1031782

      OP is on CMHED (Hednesford) not far from you?
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    6. #5
      Mr Mot's Avatar
      Mr Mot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CMCAN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Anyone else's fibre down?

      Yes, it's just up the road. Although that isn't my exchange I know it could have an effect.

      I have a ups on my NAS, sky box etc but due to the OR modem's location I can't put it on the ups.

    7. #6
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Fab Fibre (Sky network)
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,407
      Thanks
      414
      Thanked 167 Times in 161 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Anyone else's fibre down?

      Maybe CMCAN is the parent exchange for CMHEN?

      So if something goes wrong at CMCAN, then CMHEN (and maybe others) will also be affected.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    8. #7
      Mr Mot's Avatar
      Mr Mot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CMCAN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Anyone else's fibre down?

      It may be a node I guess.
      Hednesford was fibred before us, I'm not sure of the hierarchy!

    9. #8
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Fab Fibre (Sky network)
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,407
      Thanks
      414
      Thanked 167 Times in 161 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Anyone else's fibre down?

      Hednesford person says it's back up now, so hopefully yours will be too!
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    10. #9
      Mr Mot's Avatar
      Mr Mot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CMCAN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Anyone else's fibre down?

      Indeed it is, back to streaming from my plex server on break

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION