Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 12 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 112
    Like Tree12Likes

    Goodbye ADSL

    This is a discussion on Goodbye ADSL within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by dholdi So theres no dlm type process that could be having an effect ? Fibre runs at ...

    1. #31
      Mystic Eddy's Avatar
      Mystic Eddy is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Apple AirPort ac Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      341
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Goodbye ADSL

      Quote Originally Posted by dholdi View Post
      So theres no dlm type process that could be having an effect ?
      Fibre runs at full pelt from install AFAIK. I've seen it posted before that some have recommended leaving the BTO modem connected for 3 days minimum so the kit can build a picture of your line. Whether that's garbage or not, I don't know. My fibre has only been disconnected during power cuts, no problems nearly a year down the line since making the switch .
      I Used To Have An Open Mind, But My Brain Kept Falling Out



    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,477
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 120 Times in 115 Posts

      Re: Goodbye ADSL

      I think my friend on VDSL2 gets 37odd down just over 9 up
      you need to disable qos on the bt modem to get the rest

    4. #33
      unimatrix1's Avatar
      unimatrix1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Mercury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Goodbye ADSL

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      If you have some video files at home that can be streamed, could you give the Skifta app a try? I use VPlayer on my phone to play the various content, but Skifta will stream to a TV or HT if they are both connected to the same LAN.

      If you have a tablet of smart phone, try streaming something to it using Skifta. Do it at home first, then try it via 3G or in a WiFi café. You'll soon see what I am looking to achieve.

      My upload is working fine, which I am more pleased about. For myself, the increase from 10 to 20mb on the upload will be more beneficial.
      I would be more than happy to try this for you but all I have is my blackberry 8520, need an android phone to do this which im going to swap my blackberry for then be able to do it.

      Quote Originally Posted by Shonk View Post
      I think my friend on VDSL2 gets 37odd down just over 9 up
      you need to disable qos on the bt modem to get the rest
      how would you disable this?
      Sky Fibre plays a big part in the fibre industry

    5. #34
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      I may well look at hacking the Modem at a later date. For now I would like to let things settle down first.

      I am not in a rush over this and thanks to the comments over the past year and longer from many members, I am aware of the benefits.
      I have seen the many comments about slow connections. I'm not too worried about seeing what the cause is and see if there is an alternative solution.

      I also have my WNDR3800 to try out. For the moment I'm waiting for some feedback from Sky, so I am not sure what direction this will go.

      Sent from my Galaxy SII using Forum Runner

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #35
      Gigabit's Avatar
      Gigabit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: ZeN
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Goodbye ADSL

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      I may well look at hacking the Modem at a later date. For now I would like to let things settle down first.
      I hope you're aware that that requires a UART/JTAG?

    7. #36
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      Does the ECI modem still require a small hardware modification to enable unlocking?
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    8. #37
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Goodbye ADSL

      Quote Originally Posted by Gigabit View Post
      I hope you're aware that that requires a UART/JTAG?
      steelysteph likes this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #38
      iZucchini's Avatar
      iZucchini is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Finchley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Location
      Finchley
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Goodbye ADSL

      Remember when your line speed is resolved, it still won't be the full 40. I'm about 100m from my green cabinet and only get 36/37 at best down. On a good day, I'll get 38 but not for extended periods of time.

    10. The Following User Says Thank You to iZucchini For This Useful Post:

      unimatrix1 (04-04-13)

    11. #39
      unimatrix1's Avatar
      unimatrix1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Mercury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Goodbye ADSL

      Quote Originally Posted by iZucchini View Post
      Remember when your line speed is resolved, it still won't be the full 40. I'm about 100m from my green cabinet and only get 36/37 at best down. On a good day, I'll get 38 but not for extended periods of time.
      This is so true im getting the same speeds as you are at best due to my cabinet being far from me. But what the engineer said to me is my cable is ready for 300mbps when BT have finished their testing and roll it out
      Sky Fibre plays a big part in the fibre industry

    12. #40
      shakey1980's Avatar
      shakey1980 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: New Brancepeth NENP
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      192
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Goodbye ADSL

      why do people feel the need to miss about with stuff if "it aint broke dont fix it" lets hope if you do do what you sggest the router boes not brick itself
      QUOTE=Scubbie;409496]
      I did actually receive a new Sky Hub SR101. I'll stick with the one I've been using though as it is all setup and in working order. I ought to extract the password details from it though. Should it fail I have a WNDR3800 to fall back on, with it's 1Gbit LAN.

      Will I hack the BTO Modem? Not sure yet. Let's see which model I get first.

      O.[/QUOTE]

      [

     

     
    Page 4 of 12 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION