Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 45
    Like Tree2Likes

    New Firmware update for SR101

    This is a discussion on New Firmware update for SR101 within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Post #18 - Improvements in consistency and reliability of reporting attached devices –...

    1. #21
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: New Firmware update for SR101

      Post #18
      - Improvements in consistency and reliability of reporting attached devices –

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: New Firmware update for SR101

      Some have reported that more devices are recognised, but it does depend on what you have though.

      One member has stated that his Mac is not being recognised, yet others on the same OS are.

      Don't forget that with the full list of connected devices you can see the names (where known), IP Address and MAC Address all together. Should you have a potential intruder then it would be relatively easy to track them down.

      New Firmware update for SR101-attached-devices.jpg

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #23
      chenks's Avatar
      chenks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSIRV
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: New Firmware update for SR101

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Some have reported that more devices are recognised, but it does depend on what you have though.
      more devices recognised isn't really good enough though.
      ALL devices should be accurately reported all the time. this is a task that every other router i've used has been able to do flawlessly. why sky seem to have a problem with it i don't know.

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Don't forget that with the full list of connected devices you can see the names (where known), IP Address and MAC Address all together. Should you have a potential intruder then it would be relatively easy to track them down.

      Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Attached Devices.jpg 
Views:	312 
Size:	9.5 KB 
ID:	4227
      not if the intruder is listed as UNKNOWN though.

    5. #24
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: New Firmware update for SR101

      Some time back I started to assign specific IP Addresses to different devices as it helped with features such as port forwarding, Kies, remote control apps and a few other things.

      Could I suggest that using something similar would help you to identify an intruder quite quickly?

      If you live in an area like me with lots of WiFi routers around, consider using the Wireless Access List too. Whilst it can be hacked, it makes it less inviting than a neighbours WiFi.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #25
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: New Firmware update for SR101

      Just playing around in the router pages now.
      My Samsung phone is listed as unknown.
      With the O2 routers you could edit the descriptions of attached devices.
      I'm assuming this isn't possible with the hub ?


    7. #26
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: New Firmware update for SR101

      Quote Originally Posted by dholdi View Post
      Just playing around in the router pages now.
      My Samsung phone is listed as unknown.
      With the O2 routers you could edit the descriptions of attached devices.
      I'm assuming this isn't possible with the hub ?
      At one point my S2 was listed as 'Unknown' but at the moment it is showing up again. Unfortunately is is listed along the lines of "android-1234567890abcde" not the name I have given it.

      Unfortunately you can't edit the list, so you are stuck with whatever it detects.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #27
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: New Firmware update for SR101

      Lauren's (daughter) S3 comes up with a similar description.
      What I do like about the list is devices drop off it when they are not connected.
      On the O2 routers they used to stay on the list if they were connected or not which kinda defeated the
      object of an attached devices list


    9. #28
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      If anyone with an iOS device is interested in trying it, the iNet app is a very nice little network scanner tool (available from the iTunes store) which does a better job of identifying attached devices than the Sky Hub SR101.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    10. #29
      chenks's Avatar
      chenks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSIRV
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: New Firmware update for SR101

      Quote Originally Posted by speedyrite View Post
      If anyone with an iOS device is interested in trying it, the iNet app is a very nice little network scanner tool (available from the iTunes store) which does a better job of identifying attached devices than the Sky Hub SR101.
      and for Mac desktop/laptops, LanScanPro is great network scanner, although that relies on the router giving accurate data, thus is the router reports UNKNOWN than it also reports that.

    11. The Following User Says Thank You to chenks For This Useful Post:

      speedyrite (05-04-13)

    12. #30
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      Quote Originally Posted by chenks View Post

      and for Mac desktop/laptops, LanScanPro is great network scanner, although that relies on the router giving accurate data, thus is the router reports UNKNOWN than it also reports that.
      Thanks,nNot seen that one, I'll have a look at it.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

     

     
    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION