Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 45
    Like Tree2Likes

    New Firmware update for SR101

    This is a discussion on New Firmware update for SR101 within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; In case it is relevant, which OS & version do you have installed please?...

    1. #11
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: New Firmware update for SR101

      In case it is relevant, which OS & version do you have installed please?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      All macs running Mountain Lion here.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    4. #13
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      317
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: New Firmware update for SR101

      Snow Leopard here on my system. My apple TV is a 3rd gen with most recent firmware on it. It's strange. Will just wait and see if anything changes via OSX updates or SKY.

    5. #14
      Haggistech's Avatar
      Haggistech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alloa
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Firmware update for SR101

      I need to check mine when i get home i have some things that show up as unknown lol

    6. #15
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: New Firmware update for SR101

      Not all the devices on my network are recognised, but then this is the case with other routers which I have used (not just Sky's).

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #16
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      If anyone with an iOS device is interested in trying it, the iNet app is a very nice little network scanner tool (available from the iTunes store) which does a better job of identifying attached devices.
      itype likes this.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    8. #17
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      The Sky Hub beta trial is now ended and public discussion of the latest firmware version is now permitted, so:

      The following release notes were issued during beta trials subsequent to the release of version 1.15i.2202..R (23 August 2012).

      Version 1.15j.2605.R (17 January 2013)

      Among other technical and internal fixes:
      - Improvements in attached devices - Cabled devices were not showed as Wireless and vice versa
      - Change in LED indication for FTTC when synchronising
      - General Stability fixes
      - Fix the bug with End-user settings causing router to enter into reboot cycle (constant reset)


      Version 1.15j.2639.R (9 February 2013)

      Issues fixed:
      - An issue identified with MAC Access Control List where it could not be edited
      - Occasional loss of internet connection even though the LEDs showed still connected
      - Occasional failure to re-connect on FTTC connection when link was lost
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    9. #18
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      The actual end of beta trial notice from Sky reports this:

      Among other the key changes from the firmware versions 2202 to 2639 were:

      - Improvements in consistency and reliability of reporting attached devices – currently wired devices attached to Sky Hub are reported as Wireless and vice versa
      - Change in Internet LED indication, now shows steady Amber, for both ADSL and Fibre customer when synchronising
      - General Stability fixes
      - Fix the software defect causing some routers to enter into reboot cycle, following customer changing default setting (constant reset)
      - Occasional loss of Internet connection even though the LEDs showed still connected
      - Occasional failure to re-connect on FTTC connection when connection link was suddenly lost due to outage


      In addition to above enhancements, we are introducing a major new feature:

      - Missing microfilter identification on broadband line, using un-cancelled echo detection parameters in the Sky Hub. With this feature, we are targeting to detect and flag to customers online if they've got microfilters missing / incorrectly fitted on their broadband lines causing degradation in broadband performance.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: New Firmware update for SR101

      - Missing microfilter identification on broadband line, using un-cancelled echo detection parameters in the Sky Hub. With this feature, we are targeting to detect and flag to customers online if they've got microfilters missing / incorrectly fitted on their broadband lines causing degradation in broadband performance.
      That will be a great addition if it works. Badly placed filters are probably near the No 1 source of broadband problems.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      chenks's Avatar
      chenks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSIRV
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: New Firmware update for SR101

      Quote Originally Posted by speedyrite View Post
      The actual end of beta trial notice from Sky reports this:

      Among other the key changes from the firmware versions 2202 to 2639 were:

      - Improvements in consistency and reliability of reporting attached devices – currently wired devices attached to Sky Hub are reported as Wireless and vice versa
      - Change in Internet LED indication, now shows steady Amber, for both ADSL and Fibre customer when synchronising
      - General Stability fixes
      - Fix the software defect causing some routers to enter into reboot cycle, following customer changing default setting (constant reset)
      - Occasional loss of Internet connection even though the LEDs showed still connected
      - Occasional failure to re-connect on FTTC connection when connection link was suddenly lost due to outage


      In addition to above enhancements, we are introducing a major new feature:

      - Missing microfilter identification on broadband line, using un-cancelled echo detection parameters in the Sky Hub. With this feature, we are targeting to detect and flag to customers online if they've got microfilters missing / incorrectly fitted on their broadband lines causing degradation in broadband performance.
      has it fixed the problem where "attached devices" lists devices as "UNKNOWN"?
      it's even listing a Sky box as "UNKNOWN" on my device list.
      i'm still on 1.15i.2202.R

      UNKNOWN Cabled
      UNKNOWN Wireless
      Lisas-iPad Wireless
      Sky+HD Cabled
      Simons-iPhone Wireless
      MacBook-Pro Wireless
      MAC-MINI Cabled
      UNKNOWN Cabled
      UNKNOWN Cabled

     

     
    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION