Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 21

    Sky Hub SR101 Monitoring Data Usage

    This is a discussion on Sky Hub SR101 Monitoring Data Usage within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I have the new Sky Hub SR101 router and wanted to monitor my data usage for the month. I'm ...

    1. #1
      brixer's Avatar
      brixer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Hub SR101 Monitoring Data Usage

      Hi,

      I have the new Sky Hub SR101 router and wanted to monitor my data usage for the month. I'm on the unlimited plan so I don't get any of the data usage information from the sky data usage page.

      My aim is to get a record of the data downloaded and uploaded through the router for a given month for both ethernet and wireless connections. Is this possible through the router admin page or can I get it from sky somewhere?

      If someone could point me in the right direction on how I could achieve this, it would be greatly appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 Monitoring Data Usage

      Sadly this feature is not present on the Sky Hub SR101 or any other Sky Router. Sky may add it at a later date, but I have no information on this.

      There are a couple of options you may wish to consider instead:


      • Install an program to monitor the usage on your own computer
      • Purchase a suitable Cable router with this feature and connect it up so that all your traffic goes through this and gets logged. The Sky Hub would the effectively act like a Modem.


      For further instructions on setting up the 2nd router, see the link below:

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...nk-dir613.html

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      Izak's Avatar
      Izak is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101 + Netgear N900
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Location
      Stockport
      Posts
      67
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 Monitoring Data Usage

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      • Purchase a suitable Cable router with this feature and connect it up so that all your traffic goes through this and gets logged. The Sky Hub would the effectively act like a Modem.
      Our 'cable' modem we use, the Netgear N900 has a traffic monitor built in and can be accessed by the Netgear Genie app or the web-based setup page. We have Unlimited too so it is just a matter of interest seeing how much is downloaded and uploaded. Before we had Sky, we were on a 40GB cap with TalkTalk and only occasionally came close to reaching this, now we're on Unlimited with Sky, it's amazing to see we use on average 45GB + per month!

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 Monitoring Data Usage

      I had the same thing with my WNDR3800 and miss it a lot.

      The nice thing about having the feature on the router is that any device you connect to it is automatically included in having it's traffic measured. With the huge range of devices used now, it is hard to make a sensible collection of this information otherwise.

      It is something which has been raised with Sky. Whether it will be added at a later date I just cannot say.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      389
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      Hopefully I'll soon be using a SamKnows Whitebox to collect this info and other useful & interesting stats about my connection.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    7. #6
      markm9's Avatar
      markm9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: SKY fibre max
      Router: Sky Q hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      NE England
      Posts
      211
      Thanks
      26
      Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 Monitoring Data Usage

      my usage is monitored by my ISP Plusnet, and i get visability to do this by day, this is also broken down into activities, i.e from streaming/ web/ p2p/ gaming etc.., this also resets every billing month, even though im on unlimited, its nice to see what i use per month, i.e feb.25 through till March 25th i used 310.34 gb
      [URL=http://beta.speedtest.net/result/4411733501]

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 Monitoring Data Usage

      For Sky Connect & Sky Everyday Lite customers there is an on-line app which is accessible in the My Sky section of the Sky website. It is those who are on the Unlimited packages who do not have this information.

      The current Netgear routers with the Netgear Genie firmware have this feature built in. The start/end dates are changeable, but the hours aren't so customisable. Many ISPs allow unmetered access between midnight and 8am or 9am, for example. This would be useful for those, but isn't a concern with Sky.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 Monitoring Data Usage

      Quote Originally Posted by speedyrite View Post
      Hopefully I'll soon be using a SamKnows Whitebox to collect this info and other useful & interesting stats about my connection.
      Unless it is set up differently from mine you will not get any usage figures. What you do get is only revealed once a month. You can't get anything directly from the router, it is locked down.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      389
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 Monitoring Data Usage

      Really? The blurb I got lists "consumption" (volume of data uploaded and downloaded) as one of the metrics, so I assumed that this is one of the things you can select to see on the scorecard or via the app. I'm probably wrong, usually am

      PS. It's a shame that Sky don't show usage via MySky for unlimited users.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 Monitoring Data Usage

      You could be correct. It may be an extra option for Fibre users, but mine only gives the options shown as 'Widgets'.

      Sky Hub SR101 Monitoring Data Usage-sk.jpg

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION