Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 21

    Sky Hub SR101 Monitoring Data Usage

    This is a discussion on Sky Hub SR101 Monitoring Data Usage within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; It's supposed to arrive this week, so I'll report back when I get it set up (hopefully over the long ...

    1. #11
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 Monitoring Data Usage

      It's supposed to arrive this week, so I'll report back when I get it set up (hopefully over the long weekend).
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 Monitoring Data Usage

      Don't suppose there's an SNMP option anywhere in the SR101?

      If it does it's possible to graph it using something like Cacti.

      See http://bandwidth.fbdn.net for an example, It won't be 100% accurate but it should give a good indication.

    4. #13
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      Sadly no SNMP option.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    5. #14
      imdag2's Avatar
      imdag2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LNUPK
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1Tb
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 Monitoring Data Usage

      i dont seem to get "consumption" with my samknows box, i get the same options as tom, and i am also on Fibre optic, and am reported as being on Sky - 40M on the router.

      this is what it says on samknows website:

      The SamKnows Whitebox currently performs the following tests:
      • Multi-threaded HTTP download speed test
      • Multi-threaded HTTP based upload speed test
      • Availability of the connection
      • Jitter
      • Latency (both ICMP and UDP)
      • Packet loss (both ICMP and UDP)
      • DNS query resolution time
      • DNS query failure rate
      • Web page loading time
      • Web page loading failure rate

      FTTC Connection: download:40,000. upload:10,000. 5ms ping
      ADSL Speed:
      Connection Speed 18013 kbps 1087 kbps 16db 7db attenuation7db 7db noise
      Download: 15351 Kbit/s
      Upload : 957 kbit/s
      Connects : 2891 conn/min Ping: 19 ms

    6. #15
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      Thanks fir the feedback on this. I'm told that It's being sent out this week, so I'll report back when I get it set up (hopefully over the long weekend) if it arrives).
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    7. #16
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 Monitoring Data Usage

      Whitebox arrived yesterday, all setup this morning, got logged onto the website to configure report card and widgets

      You guys were correct & I was wrong - sadly there is no widget for consumption (although the test methodology paper I got from SamKnows lists it as one of the key metrics that is tested and reported). Ah well, the other metrics will be just as interesting to see over time...
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    8. #17
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 Monitoring Data Usage

      Quote Originally Posted by speedyrite View Post
      Whitebox arrived yesterday, all setup this morning, got logged onto the website to configure report card and widgets

      You guys were correct & I was wrong - sadly there is no widget for consumption (although the test methodology paper I got from SamKnows lists it as one of the key metrics that is tested and reported). Ah well, the other metrics will be just as interesting to see over time...
      Does all your traffic pass though the whitebox now?

      Otherwise it wouldn't be able to tell the usage anyway.

    9. #18
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 Monitoring Data Usage

      Quote Originally Posted by dragon2611 View Post
      Does all your traffic pass though the whitebox now?

      Otherwise it wouldn't be able to tell the usage anyway.
      Yes all traffic goes through the whitebox. Router's wireless access point is off. Wireless traffic goes to a Devolo dLAN wireless access point that is connected over the power wiring to a switch. The whitebox is between the switch and the router.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    10. #19
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 Monitoring Data Usage

      Just to close the loop re my query about the Whitebox "consumption" metric, I spoke to SamKnows and they confirmed that the "consumption" metric is not actually collected in the UK project (it's only collected in some of their US based projects), hence its unavailability (as advised by other Whitebox users).
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    11. #20
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub SR101 Monitoring Data Usage

      Quote Originally Posted by speedyrite View Post
      Just to close the loop re my query about the Whitebox "consumption" metric, I spoke to SamKnows and they confirmed that the "consumption" metric is not actually collected in the UK project (it's only collected in some of their US based projects), hence its unavailability (as advised by other Whitebox users).
      Is it possible to gain access to the whitebox? does it have SNMP support?

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION