Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18
    Like Tree1Likes

    sr101 How to change sticky IP

    This is a discussion on sr101 How to change sticky IP within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; edited...

    1. #11
      mily316's Avatar
      mily316 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sr101 How to change sticky IP

      edited
      Last edited by mily316; 07-02-13 at 06:18 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Fab Fibre (Sky network)
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,408
      Thanks
      416
      Thanked 167 Times in 161 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      Probably best to use your own router instead of the Sky Hub then. There's plenty of info and advice re suitable kit and what you need to know on this forum and others.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    4. #13
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: sr101 How to change sticky IP

      I have to ask, Why?

      I cannot think of a legitimate reason why anyone would keep needing to change their IP and quickly as well.

      There may well be one but if there is I'd be intrigued to know what it is.

      Usually when people want to keep changing their IP it's due to ban evasion or because they're doing something suspect, which isn't fair on the next person who then gets that IP.

    5. #14
      mily316's Avatar
      mily316 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sr101 How to change sticky IP

      edited
      Last edited by mily316; 07-02-13 at 06:20 PM.

    6. #15
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,251
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: sr101 How to change sticky IP

      I don't have much knowledge over the allocation of IPs for Mobile providers. I would suggest that you check out their support forums.

      As for routers which you can connect to Sky's ADSL, basically there is a section in this forum to help you with that. You will first need to check to see whether your connection is MER or PPPoA or will support both. This will help to decide which router you will go for. Currently there is only one manufacturer who has composed a firmware which supports Sky's MER. Otherwise and ADSL2+ router will work with Sky if you have a PPPoA connection.

      However, just a friendly piece, if you are deliberately trying to trick someone by changing your IP Address, then you will trip up. It is very easy to catch someone when you are using an ISP's IP Address, even if you change it every 10 minutes. Personally I would go as far to say that just by wanting to change it so frequently that you are flagging up something now.

      If someone is targeting you on a game or somewhere else, then move on. The Internet is a huge place. If you are harassing someone else, then your Internet privileges can and will be suspended. Sky's T&Cs specifically include a clause against using your connection in this way, as do all the other ISPs.
      andrewjr likes this.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    7. #16
      chrcol's Avatar
      chrcol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leics Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: 8800nl(bridge) + pfSense 2.4 N3150 unit + asus ac68 as WAP
      Sky TV: FreeSAT
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Leics
      Posts
      262
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: sr101 How to change sticky IP

      why would people want a changing ip? the only reason I can think of if you been doing something naughty.

    8. #17
      Manook's Avatar
      Manook is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sr101 How to change sticky IP

      Quote Originally Posted by chrcol View Post
      why would people want a changing ip? the only reason I can think of if you been doing something naughty.
      I noticed OP has removed everything but thought id just add that I had to renew mine recently due to slow speeds and increased ping times.

      For some reason Speedtest was showing my nearest testing station as Manchester (when I live near Brighton). Sky was routing me all over the place so I disconnected my sky router (not the BTO) over night and the following morning when I turned it back on I received a new IP.

      Now speedtest shows London as my nearest centre but my speed is still slow (gone down to approx 25mbps and ping 24ms when it was 38down and 8ms).

      Its done this before and rectified itself so ill just leave it and hope DLM sorts itself out.

    9. #18
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: sr101 How to change sticky IP

      Quote Originally Posted by Manook View Post
      I noticed OP has removed everything but thought id just add that I had to renew mine recently due to slow speeds and increased ping times.

      For some reason Speedtest was showing my nearest testing station as Manchester (when I live near Brighton). Sky was routing me all over the place so I disconnected my sky router (not the BTO) over night and the following morning when I turned it back on I received a new IP.

      Now speedtest shows London as my nearest centre but my speed is still slow (gone down to approx 25mbps and ping 24ms when it was 38down and 8ms).

      Its done this before and rectified itself so ill just leave it and hope DLM sorts itself out.
      Speedtest is terrible at picking the server closest to you.

      Also the server closest to your physical location isn't usually the best one, the traffic will usually have to goto the nearest IXP (Internet exchange point) to get from Skys network onto the other providers network.

      There is at least one IXP in Manchester although the bulk of traffic is exchanged in London.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION