Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Ordered Sky Fibre

    This is a discussion on Ordered Sky Fibre within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello Just ordered Sky Fibre last night as currently with O2 and my speed is 3mb, so been thinking about ...

    1. #1
      Hunter71's Avatar
      Hunter71 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: O2
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2013
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ordered Sky Fibre

      Hello

      Just ordered Sky Fibre last night as currently with O2 and my speed is 3mb, so been thinking about upgrading to fibre optic for a while.

      My question is I have a very old master socket, will it be updated by the engineer? Bit worried that it will cause problems as its so old and I'll be without broadband because of it (which my wife and 13 year old daughter won't be happy with ).

      I think this is it old bt master socket - Google Search.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Fab Fibre (Sky network)
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,407
      Thanks
      414
      Thanked 167 Times in 161 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      Not a problem. The Openreach engineer will upgrade your master socket to bring it up to date as part of the job.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    4. #3
      Hunter71's Avatar
      Hunter71 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: O2
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2013
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ordered Sky Fibre

      Excellent! I was hoping they would, thanks for the speedy reply.

    5. #4
      Bi5h's Avatar
      Bi5h is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Location
      North Wales
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ordered Sky Fibre

      Just make sure they do this as some engineers are cutting corners and not doing the job right. I had to call Sky who sent Openreach out again to do it properly.

    6. #5
      Hunter71's Avatar
      Hunter71 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: O2
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2013
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ordered Sky Fibre

      I'm off work the week it's due to be installed, so will be watching him like a hawk

      Thanks

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts
      The Internet will probably be own for around 30 minutes while the BTO Engineer replaces the socket and hooks up the Fibre connection in the cabinet.

      As for the reports of poor service, these appear to be with some sub-contractors or new BTO employees.

      Sent from my Galaxy SII using Forum Runner

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    8. #7
      Hunter71's Avatar
      Hunter71 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: O2
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2013
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ordered Sky Fibre

      Thank again for the replys.
      Last edited by Hunter71; 06-02-13 at 06:07 PM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION