Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 14 of 14

    GEA link timescale

    This is a discussion on GEA link timescale within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; That would be Communications Providers, not Call Providers for the acronym CP. I've read plenty of forum posts accusing Openreach ...

    1. #11
      Slowband's Avatar
      Slowband is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kneller Hall
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: GEA link timescale

      That would be Communications Providers, not Call Providers for the acronym CP.

      I've read plenty of forum posts accusing Openreach of a lot of things, however the idea that some random Sky customer services person would have evidence that Openreach are breaching their Undertakings while Sky or TalkTalk haven't complained to Ofcom on the matter is crazy.

      There's no massive delay as far as getting a time slot goes. The operator raises the CableLink order with Openreach and it's dealt with per a well documented E2E provisioning process. The same process is followed be it Sky, TalkTalk or BT Wholesale who place the CableLink order. Remember that Openreach engineers and BT Wholesale engineers are not the same people and Openreach have to seek special dispensation from Ofcom to use engineers from other business units and they only get that in extreme circumstances.

      The issues are far more about the Retail and Wholesale arms of BT than Openreach. In many instances Openreach don't even know who they're working for - all orders are raised as LLU including BT Wholesale.

      Sky don't need to have equipment in every exchange to supply the fibre services, they need it where there are handover points. Small exchanges will be parented from larger ones which will almost certainly have a Sky LLU presence.

      Conspiracy theories are interesting but it's all quite boring.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,520
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: GEA link timescale

      Quote Originally Posted by Slowband View Post
      The issues are far more about the Retail and Wholesale arms of BT than Openreach. In many instances Openreach don't even know who they're working for - all orders are raised as LLU including BT Wholesale.
      In that case all I can say is it must have something to do with the way Sky utilise the data made available to them by Openreach (OR). In some cases errors in data provided by OR can prevent Sky placing an order for up to three months (that being the update cycle) whereas BT are able to ride rough shod over the data, place and complete the order as if nothing was wrong.

    4. #13
      Slowband's Avatar
      Slowband is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kneller Hall
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: GEA link timescale

      Quote Originally Posted by seawright View Post
      In that case all I can say is it must have something to do with the way Sky utilise the data made available to them by Openreach (OR). In some cases errors in data provided by OR can prevent Sky placing an order for up to three months (that being the update cycle) whereas BT are able to ride rough shod over the data, place and complete the order as if nothing was wrong.
      They both order in the same way through the same system.

      EDIT: Sky have never said that they will have fibre available in all exchanges where Openreach have released it, let alone when Openreach release it. Given Openreach enable a few cabinets initially it's far from impossible that Sky intentionally wait until a certain number of homes have been passed in the exchange before putting down the cash for the CableLink. Wholesale have no such issues as Retail have been heavily pushing fibre while Sky, well, haven't.

    5. #14
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,251
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: GEA link timescale

      Quote Originally Posted by Slowband View Post
      EDIT: Sky have never said that they will have fibre available in all exchanges where Openreach have released it, let alone when Openreach release it. Given Openreach enable a few cabinets initially it's far from impossible that Sky intentionally wait until a certain number of homes have been passed in the exchange before putting down the cash for the CableLink. Wholesale have no such issues as Retail have been heavily pushing fibre while Sky, well, haven't.
      Perhaps Sky hasn't said that they will be able to offer Sky Fibre products in all the exchanges where BTO has rolled out FTTC capabilities, but it has been confirmed that they are now in a position to offer Sky Fibre products in telephone exchanges which do not have Sky's LLU kit in the exchange.

      Just what Sky's actual practise is with regards to determining when they will make everything available is not public knowledge. If you have evidence of their practise and wish to maintain some safety in revealing it, please feel free to send a PM to either the forum owners or one of the moderator team.

      With the current backhaul issues, I think it is safe to say that Sky are selling their broadband products. Remember that if you go on-line to sign up to Sky Broadband, when the estimated speed is shown, you are also shown what you can get with Fibre, if it is available.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION