Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 23
    Like Tree1Likes

    Fibre Broadband activation fee

    This is a discussion on Fibre Broadband activation fee within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Why is it when a current customer want to upgrade to Fibre Broadband I have to pay a 50 activation ...

    1. #1
      jpd1977uk's Avatar
      jpd1977uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01628
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Not Sure
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Maidenhead
      Posts
      101
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Fibre Broadband activation fee

      Why is it when a current customer want to upgrade to Fibre Broadband I have to pay a 50 activation fee and if you sign us a new customer its free.

      I find this totally unacceptable! Shouldn't it be the other way round?
      Current PC System:
      Intel Core i7 920 D0 Stepping 2.66Ghz
      Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R Motherboard
      XFX ATI Radeon HD 4890 1024MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card
      Patriot Viper 6GB DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600MHz) Low Latency Tri-Channel
      Windows 7 Premium SP1


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      pete.i's Avatar
      pete.i is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01757
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Freesat/etc
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      376
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Fibre Broadband activation fee

      Quote Originally Posted by jpd1977uk View Post
      Why is it when a current customer want to upgrade to Fibre Broadband I have to pay a 50 activation fee and if you sign us a new customer its free.

      I find this totally unacceptable! Shouldn't it be the other way round?
      Yes it should. They do it to attract new customers. You and I are already hooked. Most ISPs (if not all) and other organisations do the same thing. Unfair, but as we don't complain enough in this country they get away with it.

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts
      Several members have negotiated with Sky and had this fee waived. I know when I can finally get FTTC that I shall try to handle a little.

      Sent from my Galaxy SII using Forum Runner

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #4
      audioslim's Avatar
      audioslim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Failsworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Fibre Broadband activation fee

      Same thing happened to me (already Sky TV customer, wanted to bring phone and get fibre installed).

      So I cancelled and signed up in Mrs name with different back account,with additional 16.50 discount a month for 6 months, free install, new HD 250GB box, and quidco of 100 quid if it pays.

      Not the cleverest of moves Sky that one. If they had offered free fibre install it would have saved them hundreds of pounds.

      Not for everyone of course, but if you can I would advise you to.

    6. #5
      Bi5h's Avatar
      Bi5h is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Location
      North Wales
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fibre Broadband activation fee

      Sky are very poor when it comes to looking after long time customers, we have been with them for decades and unless you threat to cancel or haggle you can't get nothing. About 7 years ago our digibox packed in and they didn't want to know, it was only when we got through to cancellations that they agreed to replace it free. Shame you have to do this.

    7. #6
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Fibre Broadband activation fee

      It's not always like that though.

      I've been with sky for about 5 years & unsubscribed from the hd pack about a year ago.
      A few months later i had an offer on the mysky page of 'hd pack - first 3 months free' + 100 m&s vouchers.

      They effectively gave me 7.75 for taking the hd pack for a year, no haggling, nothing.

    8. #7
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,651
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: Fibre Broadband activation fee

      I complained that I had registered my interest when sky first announced FTTC trials and they waived the fee for me.


      dog-man

    9. #8
      Bi5h's Avatar
      Bi5h is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Location
      North Wales
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fibre Broadband activation fee

      Quote Originally Posted by gymno View Post
      It's not always like that though.
      But it is, you had to cancel a sub before they offered you anything.

    10. #9
      MrDiesel's Avatar
      MrDiesel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kilmarnock
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fibre Broadband activation fee

      i just rang them up and said i want fibre but dont want the fee, bt have offerd me it for nothing what can they do ., woman said nothing just cancel.

    11. #10
      Matty87's Avatar
      Matty87 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2013
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fibre Broadband activation fee

      Quote Originally Posted by MrDiesel View Post
      i just rang them up and said i want fibre but dont want the fee, bt have offerd me it for nothing what can they do ., woman said nothing just cancel.
      Go through to cancellations and explain the situation. I got the fee waived that way.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION