Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 29
    Like Tree5Likes

    Fibre Installed This Morning - 7.5mbps! Is that it? Very disappointed... DLM really necessary?

    This is a discussion on Fibre Installed This Morning - 7.5mbps! Is that it? Very disappointed... DLM really necessary? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Guys, I had the BTO come this morning and install the modem and attach the Sky Hub. He seemed ...

    1. #1
      itzame's Avatar
      itzame is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01323
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Fibre Installed This Morning - 7.5mbps! Is that it? Very disappointed... DLM really necessary?

      Hi Guys, I had the BTO come this morning and install the modem and attach the Sky Hub. He seemed in a hurry, he mentioned he had another 10 to do today! Following the install he asked me to login to the wireless using my iPad and once logged on he left.

      However, I made myself a cup of coffee and connected my iMac using ethernet directly to the HUB and headed straight for speedtest.net - Ouch! Downspeed 7.5mbps. Ping 19 has and upload was 5.5mbps. Obviously the latter seems to me like a big improvement from my old ADSL but the down is actually SLOWER than my old ADSL connection of 9.5. I was told I could get up to 34mbps when I signed up for it. WTF?

      I called SKY and they have told me to wait 2 WEEKS while they test the line using [DLM] and my speed will improve. I have read some posts from other users on the internet and they have mentioned slow initial down stream connections but none as slow as this. They have also mentioned that the line testing / training / bedding in whatever you call it is actually not necessary with fibre connections. I'm confused.

      Can anybody clear this up for me? Am I going to be wasting my time for the next two weeks. Paying over the odds for a slower connection and taking the day off work for this has left me feeling very frustrated and disappointed.

      Thanks in advance for any advice.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      jrfer's Avatar
      jrfer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rushden
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Northants
      Posts
      250
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Fibre Installed This Morning - 7.5mbps! Is that it? Very disappointed... DLM really necessa

      I was under the impression that fibre started out at the maximum speed and DLM then ran and slowed it down if any line issues were detected.

      My connection started as per the speed test in my sig and has stayed there ever since.

      I think you have been fed a load of bull excreta.

    4. #3
      itzame's Avatar
      itzame is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01323
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fibre Installed This Morning - 7.5mbps! Is that it? Very disappointed... DLM really necessa

      WOW! Your speeds are impressive (looks to the sky [no pun intended] and dreams). I have a sneeky feeling you are right about being led up the garden path. I will continue to look to see if there any other people who have / are suffering the same issue as me. Perhaps (deep breath) there may have even been a solution.

    5. #4
      jayhab's Avatar
      jayhab is offline Site Content Team
      Exchange: Connah's Quay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: not any more!
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      480
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Fibre Installed This Morning - 7.5mbps! Is that it? Very disappointed... DLM really necessa

      Reset the router and/or Openreach modem.

    6. #5
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Fibre Installed This Morning - 7.5mbps! Is that it? Very disappointed... DLM really necessa

      did the engineer change the faceplate out for a VDSL one. it should look like the pic below

      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    7. #6
      itzame's Avatar
      itzame is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01323
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fibre Installed This Morning - 7.5mbps! Is that it? Very disappointed... DLM really necessa

      Yes I have reset both the modem and the router twice now, no difference. And yes the faceplate is the same as the picture. I'm starting to pull my hair out! Thanks for your input.

      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      did the engineer change the faceplate out for a VDSL one. it should look like the pic below


    8. #7
      Bi5h's Avatar
      Bi5h is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Location
      North Wales
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fibre Installed This Morning - 7.5mbps! Is that it? Very disappointed... DLM really necessa

      I'd be back straight in touch with the Sky fibre team. I doubt he's putting in faceplates if he is doing 10 a day. Read my thread for my recent experience with a fibre install.

    9. #8
      Johnelf's Avatar
      Johnelf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: BT Home Hub 4
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Epsom
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Fibre Installed This Morning - 7.5mbps! Is that it? Very disappointed... DLM really necessa

      How are you doing the speed test wireless or wired connection?
      what are the speed statistics on the modem?

    10. #9
      itzame's Avatar
      itzame is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01323
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fibre Installed This Morning - 7.5mbps! Is that it? Very disappointed... DLM really necessa

      I'm using a wired connection to the router. The router or modem? stats say
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 7544
      UpStream Connection Speed 5692

    11. #10
      Johnelf's Avatar
      Johnelf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: BT Home Hub 4
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Epsom
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Fibre Installed This Morning - 7.5mbps! Is that it? Very disappointed... DLM really necessa

      Ouch ok
      Sorry I was hoping you we're you going to say wireless and possible wifi channel clash.
      But if the modem/router is saying that, then not good i agree.Something Clearly wrong. If you we're getting ADSL speed of 9 down, then I reckon you should be getting the full 40 down now.

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to Johnelf For This Useful Post:

      itzame (18-01-13)

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION