Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 29
    Like Tree5Likes

    Fibre Installed This Morning - 7.5mbps! Is that it? Very disappointed... DLM really necessary?

    This is a discussion on Fibre Installed This Morning - 7.5mbps! Is that it? Very disappointed... DLM really necessary? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; What speed did Sky estimate you would get?...

    1. #11
      Bi5h's Avatar
      Bi5h is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Location
      North Wales
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fibre Installed This Morning - 7.5mbps! Is that it? Very disappointed... DLM really necessa

      What speed did Sky estimate you would get?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      steelysteph's Avatar
      steelysteph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lancaster
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM Hub 3
      Sky TV: 2TB Minnie Mous
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      400
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Fibre Installed This Morning - 7.5mbps! Is that it? Very disappointed... DLM really necessa

      He should have tested the connection with his meter, that's the rules.

      If the downstream speed is below 15mbs the installer is obliged to confirm with you that you are happy, if you're not then you are entitled to refuse the installation at no cost. I know this because the installer told me when they did mine and I was only getting 13 down.

      Get in contact with Sky and tell them that you are not happy with the install.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to steelysteph For This Useful Post:

      itzame (18-01-13)

    5. #13
      itzame's Avatar
      itzame is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01323
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fibre Installed This Morning - 7.5mbps! Is that it? Very disappointed... DLM really necessa

      I was estimated 34mbps tops! I have already called them and they fobbed me off with the DLM route (14 days). I think I will do as you say and call them again, this time stating that the engineer DID NOT test the line correctly.

      I have had a thought. He had to use an extension from the main box to my office and he did say that it would probably lose a bit of down speed, but surely not this much? Its the same amount of extension used for the old ASDL connection.

    6. #14
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Fibre Installed This Morning - 7.5mbps! Is that it? Very disappointed... DLM really necessa

      Quote Originally Posted by itzame View Post
      I was estimated 34mbps tops! I have already called them and they fobbed me off with the DLM route (14 days). I think I will do as you say and call them again, this time stating that the engineer DID NOT test the line correctly.

      I have had a thought. He had to use an extension from the main box to my office and he did say that it would probably lose a bit of down speed, but surely not this much? Its the same amount of extension used for the old ASDL connection.
      the main box you refer to (the master) did the engineer change this out for a VDSL specific one. pic on my earlier post

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-b...tml#post403686

      if not he should of done, or used a data extension kit to move the master to a more suitable location.

      if the box has not been changed you will need to call sky and tell them that the engineer did not install a new VDSL faceplate
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    7. #15
      itzame's Avatar
      itzame is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01323
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fibre Installed This Morning - 7.5mbps! Is that it? Very disappointed... DLM really necessa

      It looks like he has changed two faceplates. Where the line comes into the house, front room (master) he has changed, then I follow the extension (which was the existing extension) around to the office where he has changed another faceplate. This faceplate then connects to the modem and router. It looks like he may have pinched the cable into the last faceplate, it looks bigger than the other one.

      Fibre Installed This Morning - 7.5mbps! Is that it? Very disappointed... DLM really necessary?-img_1282.jpg

    8. #16
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Fibre Installed This Morning - 7.5mbps! Is that it? Very disappointed... DLM really necessa

      Quote Originally Posted by itzame View Post
      It looks like he has changed two faceplates. Where the line comes into the house, front room (master) he has changed, then I follow the extension (which was the existing extension) around to the office where he has changed another faceplate. This faceplate then connects to the modem and router. It looks like he may have pinched the cable into the last faceplate, it looks bigger than the other one.

      Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1282.JPG 
Views:	4136 
Size:	209.4 KB 
ID:	4081
      thats photo is shocking, i would definitely call sky and tell them you are unhappy with the quality of the install
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    9. #17
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Fibre Installed This Morning - 7.5mbps! Is that it? Very disappointed... DLM really necessa

      Quote Originally Posted by itzame View Post
      It looks like he has changed two faceplates. Where the line comes into the house, front room (master) he has changed, then I follow the extension (which was the existing extension) around to the office where he has changed another faceplate. This faceplate then connects to the modem and router. It looks like he may have pinched the cable into the last faceplate, it looks bigger than the other one.

      Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1282.JPG 
Views:	4136 
Size:	209.4 KB 
ID:	4081

      I wonder if he's also attached the extension wiring on to the FILTERED side of the faceplate at the actual master socket, if he Has then I'd be surprised it works at all (if that is the case it really shows the quality of the filters BT are using)

      Not sure if there is even an unfiltered connection on the back of the new faceplates, but as much as I'd love to see a picture of how he's connected it there, including the back of it it's probably best to leave it and get BT to send someone else to do the job properly.

    10. #18
      jayhab's Avatar
      jayhab is offline Site Content Team
      Exchange: Connah's Quay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: not any more!
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      480
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Fibre Installed This Morning - 7.5mbps! Is that it? Very disappointed... DLM really necessa

      That really is pants! Get on the phone!

    11. #19
      itzame's Avatar
      itzame is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01323
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fibre Installed This Morning - 7.5mbps! Is that it? Very disappointed... DLM really necessa

      Hey guys... here's an update. I tried the speed test again this morning and everything was exactly the same. Down Stream 7.5. Miffed and fuelled by yesterday's complications [and your advice] I called SKY and while I was on hold waiting (in other words using the phone), i thought I would keep trying the connection speed test. WOW! It jumped up to 18.00mbps. I also was able to login to Black Ops 2 (PS3) whereas yesterday no luck what so ever.

      However as soon as I hung up, everything went off and when it did re-connect it was back down to 7.5mbps and I had been kicked from BO 2. Interesting?!?!

      I am currently on the phone to SKY again.

    12. #20
      ricopico's Avatar
      ricopico is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wolverton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: TL-WR1043ND (Open-WRT)
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      78
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fibre Installed This Morning - 7.5mbps! Is that it? Very disappointed... DLM really necessa

      Sorry if I sound like captain obvious, but it appears that the installation may well be a bodge job for the extension to the office. Please confirm, have you attempted to check the speeds on the master socket itself?

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION