Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14
    Like Tree2Likes

    Should I have got sky fibre? Too late to change?

    This is a discussion on Should I have got sky fibre? Too late to change? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'm switching to sky adsl tomorrow (activation date 14/1/13) but just found that I can get sky fibre at my ...

    1. #1
      daddyp81's Avatar
      daddyp81 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Should I have got sky fibre? Too late to change?

      I'm switching to sky adsl tomorrow (activation date 14/1/13) but just found that I can get sky fibre at my house. Couple of questions, is it too late to swap to fibre? What does the installation involve as have no leave left from work, and finally, is the unlimited fibre truly unlimited with no traffic management? It's 20/month?

      Cheers

      Andy


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Bi5h's Avatar
      Bi5h is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Location
      North Wales
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I have got sky fibre? Too late to change?

      If you're activated tomorrow I doubt there is any time to stop it, ring them about upgrading and see what they say. Yes you will need to be home for a fibre installation. Fibre is unlimited and the 20 a month package is for 40Mbps, you can get Pro which is 80Mbps

    4. #3
      daddyp81's Avatar
      daddyp81 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Should I have got sky fibre? Too late to change?

      Many thanks, BT say I can only get 29 down on my line. Could I keep the adsl and then upgrade in a month or something?

    5. #4
      Bi5h's Avatar
      Bi5h is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Location
      North Wales
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I have got sky fibre? Too late to change?

      I imagine you could probably upgrade straight away.

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Should I have got sky fibre? Too late to change?

      You can upgrade to Sky Fibre at any time.

      As it is an upgrade, it won't constitute a break of the new contract, but it will start a new contract term.

      So, for example, if you were to get Sky Fibre installed next month, you will start a new 12 month contract from then. I need to qualify this as there are rumours of Sky increasing the contract term to 18 months as BT are looking at 24 month contracts.

      As for being "Truly Unlimited" how much are you planning to download within a month?

      I've managed over 2TB of traffic in a single month. Others regularly manage of 3TB. These figures are on an ADSL connection.

      Sky does not knowingly slow you down on purpose or place any restrictions on your line, unless the courts insist upon it (i.e. blocking The Pirate Bay). However there are occasional reports of the backhaul struggling in different parts of the country from time to time. When this happens, and Sky acknowledge the issue, they have always increased the backhaul to date. This has taken anything from a month to 3 or 4 months.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    7. #6
      daddyp81's Avatar
      daddyp81 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Should I have got sky fibre? Too late to change?

      Thanks Scubbie. I only stream netflix and run a couple of iPads for browsing so I doubt I'd use more than 50-60 gig in a month( if that!) I was more concerned about shaping the download speeds etc at busy times.

      The boss (other half) isn't keen on me spending any more each month if adsl is currently working out ok for what we need so ill have to see how the adsl goes for a month or two

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Should I have got sky fibre? Too late to change?

      Definitely no traffic shaping to affect things in a negative manner. I assure you, I would be complaining about it big time by now if there was.

      Of course Sky's advertising states that it is "Truly Unlimited" at the present time. Should this advertising drop at some stage in the future, they could put in place something for new customers from some future date. Worse case scenario, they could also put all the existing customers on the same thing. For the present time, all is sweet though.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    9. #8
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Should I have got sky fibre? Too late to change?

      Quote Originally Posted by daddyp81 View Post
      Thanks Scubbie. I only stream netflix and run a couple of iPads for browsing so I doubt I'd use more than 50-60 gig in a month( if that!) I was more concerned about shaping the download speeds etc at busy times.

      The boss (other half) isn't keen on me spending any more each month if adsl is currently working out ok for what we need so ill have to see how the adsl goes for a month or two

      Can I say Whoops





      Even for me this was a heavy month we usually average 200 - 300GB a month

      Copied some Virtual Machine images to home and they were a tad bigger than I first thought, also throughput was limited to 40Mbit/s but CPU constraints in the firewall (Was over a VPN) and the 30day graphs are averaged over 2 hours so although I sync at 80Mbit/s I'd have to do rather a lot of downloading for the graph to spike that high.

    10. #9
      stereohaven's Avatar
      stereohaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Asus RT-AC56U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 2TB Box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      495
      Thanks
      33
      Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Should I have got sky fibre? Too late to change?

      Off topic I know but seriously, what the hell are you downloading to hit 2 - 3TB a month? The entire internet?! I don't even have half that much storage in the house!

      Answer via PM if preferred, discretion assured...

    11. #10
      daddyp81's Avatar
      daddyp81 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Should I have got sky fibre? Too late to change?

      That's no prob, I was wondering the same lol
      stereohaven likes this.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION