Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    The Sky Hub SR101 Reported Connection Speeds

    This is a discussion on The Sky Hub SR101 Reported Connection Speeds within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; The Sky Hub SR101 reports DownStream & UpStream Connection Speeds on the Router Status page. But when are these figures ...

    1. #1
      JPL's Avatar
      JPL
      JPL is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      286
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts

      Sky Hub SR101 Reported Connection Speeds

      The Sky Hub SR101 reports DownStream & UpStream Connection Speeds on the Router Status page.

      But when are these figures updated? In particular, is any change in the connection between BT modem and exchange immediately reflected on the SR101 status pages?
      JPL


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Fab Fibre (Sky network)
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,410
      Thanks
      417
      Thanked 167 Times in 161 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: The Sky Hub SR101 Reported Connection Speeds

      No it's not dynamically updated, you have to reboot the Sky Hub SR101 to get the reported sync speeds updated.

      I think the figures are obtained indirectly from the OR modem via Sky's systems and then fed through to the router.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    4. #3
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: The Sky Hub SR101 Reported Connection Speeds

      Quote Originally Posted by speedyrite View Post
      No it's not dynamically updated, you have to reboot the Sky Hub SR101 to get the reported sync speeds updated.

      I think the figures are obtained indirectly from the OR modem via Sky's systems and then fed through to the router.
      The data is returned as Hex in the DHCP packets, although the router only bothers to parse it out once it seems

    5. The Following User Says Thank You to dragon2611 For This Useful Post:

      speedyrite (12-01-13)

    6. #4
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Fab Fibre (Sky network)
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,410
      Thanks
      417
      Thanked 167 Times in 161 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      Ah right that explains it then!
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    7. #5
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: The Sky Hub SR101 Reported Connection Speeds

      Quote Originally Posted by speedyrite View Post
      Ah right that explains it then!
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/techn...peed-info.html

      That was done with a 2504n by putting a switch that supports port mirroring between the router and the openreach modem and then having the switch copy all the traffic to another port so I could monitor it with wireshark.

    8. The Following User Says Thank You to dragon2611 For This Useful Post:

      speedyrite (13-01-13)

    9. #6
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Fab Fibre (Sky network)
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,410
      Thanks
      417
      Thanked 167 Times in 161 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      Nice one! Somehow I had missed your posts on that.
      Last edited by speedyrite; 13-01-13 at 09:27 AM.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    10. #7
      JPL's Avatar
      JPL
      JPL is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      286
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts

      Re: The Sky Hub SR101 Reported Connection Speeds

      Thanks.

      It seems I shall have to reboot the router to get a reading. Pathetic!
      JPL

    11. #8
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Fab Fibre (Sky network)
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,410
      Thanks
      417
      Thanked 167 Times in 161 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      Or unlock the modem to see the stats?
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    12. #9
      Charlie1973's Avatar
      Charlie1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: The Sky Hub SR101 Reported Connection Speeds

      Is this hub better than the sagem fast n one ?

    13. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: The Sky Hub SR101 Reported Connection Speeds

      Quote Originally Posted by Charlie1973 View Post
      Is this hub better than the sagem fast n one ?
      Initial reports indicated that the WiFi performance was better. Later reports indicated that this wasn't so clear cut.

      There are some other 'goodies' promised for the Sky Hub SR101, but we don't know what they are or if they will be of real benefit to everyone.

      Since the specifications of the two routers are so similar, the advice has been not to purchase the Sky Hub SR101 if you have the Sagem 2504N. It wasn't in our opinion worth the extra 39, which will go up to 69 this week.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION