Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Homeplug & Sky Hub

This is a discussion on Homeplug & Sky Hub within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, So im new to the whole homeplug concept. I will hopefully soon be able to get Sky fiber-optic broadband ...

Ianh2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Springburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Thanks

Homeplug & Sky Hub

Hi, So im new to the whole homeplug concept. I will hopefully soon be able to get Sky fiber-optic broadband with an estimated speed of 38.8Mbps down and 6.1Mbps up.

I have spent a fair bit of time comparing the specifications of two models the TP-Link TL-PA411KIT / TL-PA511KIT online and the only difference I see is the interface speed being 10/100Mbps / Gigabit Ethernet Port respectively.

Now I understand that the 500Mbps is the theoretical speed and the real life speed will be very different.

As the sky hub does not have gigabyte ports would the the TL-PA411KIT be the better choice? I know it only links at 10/100Mbps how will this reflect on my actual possible speed? Ie how close will I get to the 38.8Mbps down and 6.1Mbps up? I understand things like the wiring, other appliances etc in my house will have a bearing.

I will not be using them to transfer data between devices, they will be purely used for accessing the internet for browsing, file downloads etc.

Thanks

2. Advertisement
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Thanks
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

Re: Homeplug & Sky Hub