Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 20
    Like Tree2Likes

    Fibre Install

    This is a discussion on Fibre Install within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I was due to have fibre installed last friday. The BT guy turned up to do his bit but the ...

    1. #1
      kena's Avatar
      kena is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ryhope, Sunderland
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      Ryhope, Sunderland
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Fibre Install

      I was due to have fibre installed last friday. The BT guy turned up to do his bit but the SKY router had not arrived. I asked him if I would still be able to use the ADSL connection until the Fibre router from sky arrived. He said NO and that my internet would be down until I received the fibre router. I cancelled at this point and told him not to bother. I then phoned SKY to rearrange the BT appointment and request their router. During the conversation on the phone the SKY rep said that the ADSL connection would still work.
      So my question is will the ADSL still work once BT have installed their equipment. I have rearranged BT for later this week and the SKY router still hasn't arrived. I placed the order in the middle of December.
      Any help would be appreciated.
      Will it, won't it ????


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Fibre Install

      It really depends on what work the BTO Engineer has done.

      Once he has connected the Fibre cabinet's connection to your copper cable, then then previous ADSL2+ connection will not work.

      I notice that you are posting from a Sky IP address this evening, so I guess that the ADSL2+ side is working this evening and he didn't complete the work.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      kena's Avatar
      kena is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ryhope, Sunderland
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      Ryhope, Sunderland
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Fibre Install

      Thanks Scubbie
      I don't think he has done anything. I think he came to the house first to install the BT modem, then I assume he would go and do what needs doing at the cabinet. But after speaking to him I just told him to leave it for now and I would contact sky. I have rearranged for this friday afternoon. If the sky router hasn't arrived by wednesday I will be on the phone to them again. The BT guy said that this is the first time he had been to a house and there was no sky equipment already there.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Fibre Install

      I think the delay is with the delivery, but do check on the Sky website to see if it has been dispatched first.

      As for the appointment on Friday, is this confirmed? I would be very surprised if this is the case.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      kena's Avatar
      kena is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ryhope, Sunderland
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      Ryhope, Sunderland
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Fibre Install

      Yes it's confirmed via text from Sky this morning and on the order tracking on "My Sky", but no sign of the sky router being despatched yet.

    7. #6
      kena's Avatar
      kena is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ryhope, Sunderland
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      Ryhope, Sunderland
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Fibre Install

      Update, still no router from Sky so I called them today. Apparently the order is showing with Sky on their system but not on their despatchers system, hence no router being sent out. The person I spoke to today (Greg) said he would get his manager to authorise a next day delivery so that I had the router in time for the OP engineer on Friday afternoon. Shall not hold my breath......

    8. #7
      kena's Avatar
      kena is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ryhope, Sunderland
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      Ryhope, Sunderland
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Fibre Install

      BT engineer just been but still no Sky hub so couldn't proceed. This has cost me over 2 days salary in time taken off work. Time to call sky yet again...

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Fibre Install

      I can imagine that this is getting seriously annoying now.

      Perhaps what would make it worse for myself is knowing that the DGND3700 can't be configured to work without the Sky router on SFU as well. Otherwise it could have been suggested that you try one of the fixes to use your own non-Sky router.

      I would notify Sky that you intend to pursue them for recompense with regards to loss of wages, especially knowing that you will have to book another day off now and that this 3rd date will cost you as well.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #9
      kena's Avatar
      kena is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ryhope, Sunderland
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      Ryhope, Sunderland
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Fibre Install

      Spent 35 mins on the phone explaining everything once again. Told the woman that I was very unhappy and considering going elsewhere. I made a big point re lost wages through no fault of my own. I'll give her credit where it is due. She said she will take this order on board herself and see it through every step next week. Another hub ordered today, said I should have by Tuesday, wednesday at the latest. Once I have the hub she will then order the BT engineer for later next week.
      She also said that she couldn't recompense the lost wages but she could probably do something with my Sky subscription, bearing in mind I have the full Sky package (all the TV, internet and phone) with them. We will discuss this next week. Maybe a decent reduction or a few months free. We will have to wait and see.
      Scubbie likes this.

    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Fibre Install

      Nice result.

      Often the people in the call centres will credit your account to a suitable value, rather than give you actual cash.

      Although it is nice to have cash in your hand, the net result is the same. Also other people in the call centres can see what has happened should you speak to them instead.

      Hopefully you will now receive a Sky Hub SR101 in the post now.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION