Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Slow Sky fibre exchange activation

    This is a discussion on Slow Sky fibre exchange activation within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; How long does it normally take Sky to enable fibre once BTO have done so? I've been able to order ...

    1. #1
      MaverickJesus's Avatar
      MaverickJesus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow Sky fibre exchange activation

      How long does it normally take Sky to enable fibre once BTO have done so? I've been able to order Bt Infinity since August but Sky still won't offer it - every time I have enquired I get brushed off with a 'we haven't enabled that exchange for fibre yet, come back later' with no hint of a timescale. Exchange is Cheltenham for what its worth, which is odd as before FTTC was enabled I think we had one of the slowest average ADSL speeds for a town/city due to the arcane single exchange setup we have.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richie001's Avatar
      richie001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cheltenham
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Sky fibre exchange activation

      I find that interesting because I'm from Cheltenham and Sky have told me that I can have Fibre Unlimited but would need to change my phone from BT to Sky.Which I have done at the beginning of December,Hope Sky haven't lied just to get me to change over ?

    4. #3
      MaverickJesus's Avatar
      MaverickJesus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Sky fibre exchange activation

      How bizarre. One of my work colleagues had the same problem as me but got told they 'didn't have any licences' (whatever that is supposed to mean), so he went with BT infinity instead. Doesn't seem like a very consistent response!

      Out of interest I know this is an unofficial Sky forum but is there any Sky staff representation here? It would be nice to get a concrete answer.

    5. #4
      richie001's Avatar
      richie001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cheltenham
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Sky fibre exchange activation

      Wonder if Sky lied which I hope they didn't just to get me to change over.BT offered to price match Sky's Unlimited and offer the faster speed and I could have had it now...unlike Sky who told me I had to wait 15 days after the change over date(18th Dec).

    6. #5
      MaverickJesus's Avatar
      MaverickJesus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Sky fibre exchange activation

      Anyone?

    7. #6
      richie001's Avatar
      richie001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cheltenham
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Sky fibre exchange activation

      Quote Originally Posted by MaverickJesus View Post
      Anyone?
      I'm going to give Sky a ring to find out the truth.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Slow Sky fibre exchange activation

      Quote Originally Posted by MaverickJesus View Post
      How bizarre. One of my work colleagues had the same problem as me but got told they 'didn't have any licences' (whatever that is supposed to mean), so he went with BT infinity instead. Doesn't seem like a very consistent response!

      Out of interest I know this is an unofficial Sky forum but is there any Sky staff representation here? It would be nice to get a concrete answer.
      There are quite a few Sky employees who are members here, but they will only post unofficially. It is against their terms of employment to give out official information, even if they are aware of it. If you want an official answer you will have to ask on the Official Sky Help forum, where Sky employees can give official replies. Sky Help Forum - Help & Support from the Official Sky Forum - Help & Support from the Official Sky Forum

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      tinkythomas's Avatar
      tinkythomas is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01935
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow Sky fibre exchange activation

      My exchange "WWYEOV" has now been enabled as of 31/12/2012. I can order from BT but its not available from Sky. I have registered my interest with Sky but I'm not going to hold my breath! Getting impatient now though, really want fibre! I suppose there is no way of knowing when Sky will enable otherwise I'm sure it would have been mentioned already?


      Regards,
      Chris

    10. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Slow Sky fibre exchange activation

      It can be anything from a few days to a few weeks for most people.

      Some have had to wait much longer.

      Ultimately I will be waiting once Fibre goes live for myself, which is possible in the next 3 months.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #10
      chrcol's Avatar
      chrcol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leics Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: 8800nl(bridge) + pfSense 2.4 N3150 unit + asus ac68 as WAP
      Sky TV: FreeSAT
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Leics
      Posts
      262
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Slow Sky fibre exchange activation

      My exchange they took about 1 week after it went to AO status, like yourself they wouldnt tell me so I went to another isp instead who is more open in their plans. I think its rude of them to say "just sit and wait" because as you have found out it can be many months and then your cabinet might fill up in the mean time (which does happen).

      How would sky like it if openreach and BT wholesale told them no estimated dates?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION