Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 14 of 14

    Slow Sky fibre exchange activation

    This is a discussion on Slow Sky fibre exchange activation within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Sometimes it's not that straight forward because Sky don't have handover nodes at every exchange, some are connected via other ...

    1. #11
      simon194's Avatar
      simon194 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDHAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub with Billion 8800NL in bridge mode
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      388
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 35 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Slow Sky fibre exchange activation

      Sometimes it's not that straight forward because Sky don't have handover nodes at every exchange, some are connected via other exchanges.

      In my area there are 3 exchanges (Hastings, the main exchange, and Baldslow and Castleham which are considerably smaller). The Baldslow exchange went live about 6-8 weeks before Hastings but because Sky's handover node is at the Hastings exchange they couldn't offer fibre on Baldslow until the Hastings exchange went live. This senario usually affect smaller exchanges but there are a few large ones that are set up this way.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Slow Sky fibre exchange activation

      If it helps, it has been confirmed that you can order Sky Fibre in telephone exchanges which do not have Sky's LLU kit now.

      I do not believe that either TalkTalk or O2 share information on when they are upgrading specific telephone exchanges either. If someone can confirm this I would be grateful.

      Currently though TalkTalk and O2 are the two main competitor LLU providers to Sky. Most of the other ISPs now all use the BTW backhaul.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #13
      Evil Shubunkin's Avatar
      Evil Shubunkin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aberdeen Kincorth
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Sky fibre exchange activation

      Something that I found is that if I try and order online with my line that's on Sky Talk & Broadband (full SVBN), I get an error that fibre is unavailable. If I try ordering as a new customer and put my 2nd line in which is still with BT (and already has a FTTC service on it), fibre is available.

    5. #14
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Slow Sky fibre exchange activation

      Since you have two lines at the same address, this is probably why things are complicated. However many of us have found that we can't actually type in out own Sky phone numbers in the Sky checker in the past.

      In either case, if you are looking to upgrade the Sky line to support Fibre, I would definitely recommend that you phone to ensure that the correct line is upgraded.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION