Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11
    Like Tree2Likes

    Sync speed dropped significantly

    This is a discussion on Sync speed dropped significantly within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Evening all, I upgraded to Sky Fibre when it came out earlier this year. When it was installed the BTO ...

    1. #1
      andy_mk3's Avatar
      andy_mk3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMSTMFD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Vigor130 & pfSense
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Stamford, Lincs
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sync speed dropped significantly

      Evening all, I upgraded to Sky Fibre when it came out earlier this year. When it was installed the BTO engineer changed my telephone line from the pole right down to the master socket, and everything was fine, synced at 40000/2000, speeds were fantastic. After a couple of months it dropped to around 30000/2000 until the upstream increase which it settled on about 27000/10000. I was very happy with this still as it was a massive improvement over my previous 6mb DSL connection.

      Now the other day I noticed my downloads were no-where near as quick, I checked the router and it was synced at around 16700/6500, which is less than half I was originally getting. I reset the router and the BTO modem, but the sync speed has remained pretty much the same.

      Now is this worth a call to Sky, or is it just the way it is and I'm going to have to live with it?

      Thanks

      Edit: speed test in comparison to my sig:


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Fab Fibre (Sky network)
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,409
      Thanks
      417
      Thanked 167 Times in 161 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      Probably worth checking with Sky in case a line fault has developed (this can cause DLM to adjust your speed downwards).
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    4. #3
      andy_mk3's Avatar
      andy_mk3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMSTMFD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Vigor130 & pfSense
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Stamford, Lincs
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync speed dropped significantly

      Ok thanks, I'll try and get round to it at some point! I understand it will get slower over time with the cabinet getting filled up, but that's a fair drop in my eyes!

    5. #4
      andy_mk3's Avatar
      andy_mk3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMSTMFD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Vigor130 & pfSense
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Stamford, Lincs
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync speed dropped significantly

      I finally got round to calling Sky today, my sync speed remained at ~16500 until today. After about 50 minutes on the phone doing various tests, they said they're doing further tests and will phone back later.

      They rang back about 20 minutes ago and we have arranged for an engineer to come round tomorrow afternoon as they think there is either a line fault or a faulty modem. So fingers crossed tomorrow I will be back up to speed
      Scubbie likes this.

    6. #5
      chrcol's Avatar
      chrcol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leics Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: 8800nl(bridge) + pfSense 2.4 N3150 unit + asus ac68 as WAP
      Sky TV: FreeSAT
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Leics
      Posts
      262
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Sync speed dropped significantly

      if you unlock the openreach modem you know fast if its dlm or a line issue.

      In my case I started of with 80/20 (on diff isp), the attainable sync was a whopping 110/36 and I thought wow as I was estimated 65mbit.

      Then a week later the attainable sync lowered to 90/36 still enough to maintain 80/20 service but got me worried as was a large one off drop, then a week after that it then lowered to 73/24 which dropped my service to 71/20 which is where its been since. I have no instability and no variances of snrm so in all likelyhood in my case its crosstalk and little I Can do about it, crosstalk may well be your problem as well. On vdsl crosstalk is a much bigger issue than adsl and people who were activated early after their cabinet went live will notice it more as more customers sign up in their area.

    7. #6
      andy_mk3's Avatar
      andy_mk3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMSTMFD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Vigor130 & pfSense
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Stamford, Lincs
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync speed dropped significantly

      It's an ECI modem so I've not bothered.

      I wasn't at home yesterday to see the engineers, but apparently 2 engineers came and where here a good hour, they've replaced the BTO modem as well as the faceplate and done several checks, also reset something at the exchange and finally put me back on the right profile. Apparently the line can handle 40mb no problem, wish I was here to ask what the max attainable was though. BT website says 36mb for me though.

      All ok so far, synced at 40000/7804 with this result.



      They said there could be a possible further line fault somewhere, so if it happens again we'll have to call them out again and they'll do something else I guess. Fingers crossed for now anyway!

      Edit: Just noticed I have a new IP address now also.
      Last edited by andy_mk3; 04-01-13 at 08:35 PM.

    8. #7
      chrcol's Avatar
      chrcol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leics Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: 8800nl(bridge) + pfSense 2.4 N3150 unit + asus ac68 as WAP
      Sky TV: FreeSAT
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Leics
      Posts
      262
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Sync speed dropped significantly

      good result then, and yes the eci's are harder to unlock, I am using an eci now (Was originally hg) I voluntarily swapped it because I have a eci dslam.

      without unlocking the modem if you start a tbb graph (think broadband) that monitors your connection, that may help in future to diagnose if its DLM or not, eg. if you get a connection drop in the early hours of the morning followed by increased base latency that would point to a DLM change.

    9. #8
      andy_mk3's Avatar
      andy_mk3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMSTMFD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Vigor130 & pfSense
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Stamford, Lincs
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync speed dropped significantly

      Just thought I'd post this as I set it up yesterday:



      This good or bad? I think the higher pings may have been caused by me hammering a few downloads, as I stopped them at about 11.45pm so I guess it's that.

    10. #9
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Sync speed dropped significantly

      Quote Originally Posted by chrcol View Post
      good result then, and yes the eci's are harder to unlock, I am using an eci now (Was originally hg) I voluntarily swapped it because I have a eci dslam.

      without unlocking the modem if you start a tbb graph (think broadband) that monitors your connection, that may help in future to diagnose if its DLM or not, eg. if you get a connection drop in the early hours of the morning followed by increased base latency that would point to a DLM change.

      BTW, how do you find out which DSLAM you have? I'm currently using an HG too and would be interested to find out

    11. #10
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Fab Fibre (Sky network)
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,409
      Thanks
      417
      Thanked 167 Times in 161 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      I might be wrong (usually am!) but I recall seeing some pictures of fibre street cabinets and I think the ECI ones looked different to the Huawei ones. I'll see if I can find a link to the source.

      (http://robertos.me.uk/html/street_cabinets_etc.html)

      Also I believe that Openreach originally matched the modem brand to the same as the equipment manufacturer in the street cabinet, but again I think I read somewhere that this is no longer always the case.
      Scubbie likes this.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION