Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Fibre sync speed problem (Please Help)

    This is a discussion on Fibre sync speed problem (Please Help) within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi everyone i have had Sky Fibre Pro since it was released but a few months ago i had a ...

    1. #1
      Key_To_The_Universe's Avatar
      Key_To_The_Universe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Home Hub 5
      Sky TV: Sky Q
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Fibre Pro sync speed problem (Please Help)

      Hi everyone i have had Sky Fibre Pro since it was released but a few months ago i had a power cut and no matter what i do to my BT openreach modem like reset/power reset i cannot get the sync speed back to how it was before my downstream sync was 75000 but since the power cut it always remains at 66997 even though my Max Attainable rate is 77120 or higher. I do not have any problems with my upstream as it always remains at 20000 sync and my upstream Max Attainable rate is 30566.

      I have tried modem reset but still cannot get the sync speed to change from 66997, i have never had this problem before and even when i had reset it always synced above 75000. Until a few months ago when i had a power cut.

      I have uploaded a screen shot to show you when i last reset my router which was about 10 mins ago.




      Thank you in advanced.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Fibre sync speed problem (Please Help)-untitled.jpg  


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro sync speed problem (Please Help)

      I believe that BTO's DLM needs the BTO Modem to be left on for a clear 10 days before the speeds will return to normal.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      Key_To_The_Universe's Avatar
      Key_To_The_Universe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Home Hub 5
      Sky TV: Sky Q
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Pro sync speed problem (Please Help)

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      I believe that BTO's DLM needs the BTO Modem to be left on for a clear 10 days before the speeds will return to normal.

      Hiya I had left the modem on for over 30 days until today when I logged into the modem and the sync was still at 66997 so I reset the modem and the sync remained at the same rate of 66997 as you can see in the pic.
      That's why I decided to make a thread about it as I have tried to get the sync speed to change by reset once every 14 but left it longer and tried a reset and it still is not changing sync speed.

      My max attn rate is over 75000.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: Fibre sync speed problem (Please Help)

      Two weekends ago Sky were upgrading the network for Fibre connections across the country. This has reset many connections. Many have noticed that their connection speeds dropped as a consequence.

      Do you know if this is the case with you too?

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    6. #5
      Key_To_The_Universe's Avatar
      Key_To_The_Universe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Home Hub 5
      Sky TV: Sky Q
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fibre sync speed problem (Please Help)

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Two weekends ago Sky were upgrading the network for Fibre connections across the country. This has reset many connections. Many have noticed that their connection speeds dropped as a consequence.

      Do you know if this is the case with you too?
      Nope this has been ongoing for about 4 months, just can't seem to get my sync speed closer to my max attn rate like it was before. 66997 download sync is pretty poor when my max attn rate is way over 75000.

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: Fibre sync speed problem (Please Help)

      Ok, what was your original estimated connection speed?

      The reason I ask is because as the fibre cabinets fill up with connections, the signals interfere with each other and the speeds for everyone drop.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    8. #7
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: Zen Unlimited Fibre 2
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,251
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Fibre sync speed problem (Please Help)

      also from your stats pic you are getting some errors that may affect your speed.
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > Ubiquiti UniFi | 58301/12298


    9. #8
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Fibre sync speed problem (Please Help)

      Quote Originally Posted by Key_To_The_Universe View Post
      Nope this has been ongoing for about 4 months, just can't seem to get my sync speed closer to my max attn rate like it was before. 66997 download sync is pretty poor when my max attn rate is way over 75000.
      On a lot of modems Max attainable is usually calculated with an SNRM of 0db

      You really don't want to sync with a SNR margin of 0db as a butterfly flapping it's wings in Africa would be enough to knock the connection over.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION