Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Text From Sky Regarding Upgrade on Fibre Network?

    This is a discussion on Text From Sky Regarding Upgrade on Fibre Network? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi All Just had a text from Sky saying "Sky will be upgrading its fibre network over the next few ...

    1. #1
      BruceH's Avatar
      BruceH is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Crawley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Crawley
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Text From Sky Regarding Upgrade on Fibre Network?

      Hi All

      Just had a text from Sky saying "Sky will be upgrading its fibre network over the next few nights. Please reset your router if you experience a loss of service. Thankyou"

      I live in Crawley West Sussex

      Anyone else had the same? Any ideas what the upgrade is?

      BruceH


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      bobbyrabbit's Avatar
      bobbyrabbit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Horsham, Carfax
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Unlimited Fibre Extra
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Horsham
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Text From Sky Regarding Upgrade on Fibre Network?

      I got the same text and I'm up the road in Horsham. No clue what the upgrade relates to either.

    4. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Text From Sky Regarding Upgrade on Fibre Network?

      More backhaul etc

      Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    5. #4
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Fab Fibre (Sky network)
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,407
      Thanks
      414
      Thanked 167 Times in 161 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      I've also received this txt today.

      As the message had disappeared off the "Announcements" section of Sky Help Forum, I thought this work had been completed - but presumably not!

      Maybe it is ongoing on a region by region basis?
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    6. #5
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Virgin. Over 500mb.
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,664
      Thanks
      94
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: Text From Sky Regarding Upgrade on Fibre Network?

      I assume they always send an email to those in an area they do the upgrade in?

      I have had nothing as of yet.


      dog-man

    7. #6
      Racey43's Avatar
      Racey43 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Location
      Bridgend
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Text From Sky Regarding Upgrade on Fibre Network?

      I got the text today too - based in Cardiff.

    8. #7
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Virgin. Over 500mb.
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,664
      Thanks
      94
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: Text From Sky Regarding Upgrade on Fibre Network?

      Are they actually doing anything to our routers or is it just an exchange issue?



      dog-man

    9. #8
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Fab Fibre (Sky network)
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,407
      Thanks
      414
      Thanked 167 Times in 161 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Text From Sky Regarding Upgrade on Fibre Network?

      It's back!

      From "Announcements" of Sky Help Forum:

      "Over the next few days we will be upgrading our fibre network to make sure we have enough capacity to support our growing fibre customers.
      As a result of this upgrade, some customers may experience a loss of service, to restore please reset your Hub to resolve the issue."
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION