Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Upgrade to fibre, sky talk first?

    This is a discussion on Upgrade to fibre, sky talk first? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, my exchange has been enabled for a few months but my cab only went live on Friday for fibre. ...

    1. #1
      gazter's Avatar
      gazter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: carlisle
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Upgrade to fibre, sky talk first?

      Hi, my exchange has been enabled for a few months but my cab only went live on Friday for fibre. Showing up on BT infinity and sky fibre checkers.

      I am an existing sky broadband customer with sky calls, but BT manage my line. As part of the ordering process as we all know sky insist on taking over the line rental as well.

      Fine, no real problem. Question though. Following my order, the only emails I have had are for dates to transfer my line to sky (17th dec). Do sky sit on the fibre order until the line rental changes have gone through or are they processed simultaneously ?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Skycarp's Avatar
      Skycarp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Selby
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      107
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Upgrade to fibre, sky talk first?

      Quote Originally Posted by gazter View Post
      Hi, my exchange has been enabled for a few months but my cab only went live on Friday for fibre. Showing up on BT infinity and sky fibre checkers.

      I am an existing sky broadband customer with sky calls, but BT manage my line. As part of the ordering process as we all know sky insist on taking over the line rental as well.

      Fine, no real problem. Question though. Following my order, the only emails I have had are for dates to transfer my line to sky (17th dec). Do sky sit on the fibre order until the line rental changes have gone through or are they processed simultaneously ?
      I had a BT line and phone calls and had Sky ADSL Broadband. When i ordered sky Fibre in June and the sky phone line /call package {that is now a condition of having fibre} what happened was that my BT phone line was switched over to sky on a Wednesday {this happened seamlessly with no problems and i retained my existing BT number which i had requested to do so} The next day Open reach came and installed the Fibre connection/modem and that was that all sorted !

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Skycarp For This Useful Post:

      gazter (02-12-12)

    5. #3
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,520
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Upgrade to fibre, sky talk first?

      As you are aware installing fibre will require an OpenReach (BTOR) visit. Due to the recent bad weather BTOR have not been able to meet their usual timescales in the north east area. I would wait until midweek and if you haven't heard anything by then give Sky a call to check whether a date has been appointed for the engineers visit.

    6. #4
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      317
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Upgrade to fibre, sky talk first?

      What happened with me was we needed to order the Sky Phoneline first. Wait for it to be installed and then get back in contact with SKY to order the Fibre service.

    7. #5
      audioslim's Avatar
      audioslim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Failsworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Upgrade to fibre, sky talk first?

      I've just moved phone and line rental to sky and had Fibre installed.

      It all switched over/had fibre install on the same day. The phone line wasnt working until around 6pm but the fibre install went fine without it anyway.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION