Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 26
    Like Tree1Likes

    Second router in garden

    This is a discussion on Second router in garden within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Thanks guys - I followed the instructions as you guys said and it worked with my old Sky router. Only ...

    1. #11
      jamie21's Avatar
      jamie21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Second router in garden

      Thanks guys - I followed the instructions as you guys said and it worked with my old Sky router. Only had to turn off DHCP on the old router and set it's IP address to 192.168.0.250 as stated in the guide above (I believe setting the IP is just for ease of use) - and of course change the wifi username and password to my current Sky Fiber Optic settings. Got it up and running in 15 minutes and have wireless in the garden den now.

      Cheers!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      jamie21's Avatar
      jamie21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Second router in garden

      Think I spoke too soon with this - the internet works fine in the garden den - but since adding the second router I've lost connectivity on my PC-to-smartphone apps? I use a remote desktop app, a mobile mouse app and a VLC media player remote app - all three no longer connect to my computer.

      All my ports are open on my main router and the apps were working fine before - I used two of them just before I added the second router so definitely something to do with that. Can anyone shed any light on this? Am quite lost - I tried opening ports on the second router but it doesn't save for some reason. Also tried restarting the routers and computers (and my phone) but still no luck!

    4. #13
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Second router in garden

      Is UPnP enabled or disabled on the 2nd router?

      If it is enabled, could you disable it please?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Second router in garden

      It is possible the IP address of your PC has changed since introducing the second router, now your apps can't find it. Try reserving its address in the main router, then uninstall and reinstall the apps.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      jamie21's Avatar
      jamie21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Second router in garden

      I turned off uPnP but still no luck. I actually changed the IP range for DHCP to 192.168.0.2 - 192.268.0.240 (IP of second router is 192.168.0 250) - and when the router restarted all the apps worked again for a while but when I tried again a few hours later they stopped working again?

      - - - Updated - - -

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It is possible the IP address of your PC has changed since introducing the second router, now your apps can't find it. Try reserving its address in the main router, then uninstall and reinstall the apps.
      The IP address of the computer did change when I connected the second router but that can't be the problem if the worked for a while after I altered the DHCP range right?

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Second router in garden

      but that can't be the problem if the worked for a while after I altered the DHCP range right?
      Its all I can think of. Adding the second router should have made no difference as it is acting simply as switch. It is the same as being connected directly by an ethernet cable.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      jamie21's Avatar
      jamie21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Second router in garden

      Just to update on this - still haven't figured out the fix but the phone apps work fine when I'm in the garden den and my phone is connected to the Wifi on the second router?! I tested them a few times and every time I went back into the house and tried connecting using the main routers Wifi, they wouldn't. The second router uses the same Wifi name and password as the first router. Any ideas?

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Second router in garden

      Try changing the SSID of the second router. This may mean you are not able to roam seamlessly, but it would be better than nothing.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      jamie21's Avatar
      jamie21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Second router in garden

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Try changing the SSID of the second router. This may mean you are not able to roam seamlessly, but it would be better than nothing.
      Tried that and restarted both routers, no luck still!

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Second router in garden

      Are you still able to connect to the 2nd router after you change its name?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION