Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 15 of 15
    Like Tree7Likes

    Sky fibre pro -why isn't it mentioned on the Sky website?

    This is a discussion on Sky fibre pro -why isn't it mentioned on the Sky website? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by speedyrite And, let's face it - "If you build it, they will come" !!! LOL - Reminds ...

    1. #11
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky fibre pro -why isn't it mentioned on the Sky website?

      Quote Originally Posted by speedyrite View Post
      And, let's face it - "If you build it, they will come" !!!
      LOL - Reminds me of this.

      speedyrite likes this.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Racey43's Avatar
      Racey43 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Location
      Bridgend
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky fibre pro -why isn't it mentioned on the Sky website?

      Quote Originally Posted by dragon2611 View Post
      Perhaps a single pro user being able to use as much capacity on the back-haul links as 2 SFU users.

      I'd love to see how the back haul links are sized and the contention ratios work out because lets face it would potentially take only ~15 people on Pro deciding to download something (assuming wherever they're downloading from can max their line) to saturate a gigabit link.
      I'm out of my depth with this

    4. #13
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: Sky fibre pro -why isn't it mentioned on the Sky website?

      Quote Originally Posted by Racey43 View Post
      I'm out of my depth with this
      Don't worry.

      Basically the link between your home and the exchange is just one part of the overall system. Between the telephone exchange and Sky's servers is a link which is able to take on much more capacity. This is known as the "backhaul".

      Around a year ago Sky's backhaul systems were upgraded to 10Gbit if memory serves me correctly. If a single link isn't enough, then a 2nd, 3rd, etc., link can be added.

      If there is insufficient capacity on the backhaul, the experience of all the people in a given area is that during peak times their connections appear to slow down. This has happened on many occasions and Sky's response has been to get an additional line installed as and when required. This can take a few months to complete though.
      speedyrite likes this.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    5. #14
      dbassett's Avatar
      dbassett is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ecclesfield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Location
      sheffield
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky fibre pro -why isn't it mentioned on the Sky website?

      well a lot of lines couldnt support pro speeds anways.

    6. #15
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Sky fibre pro -why isn't it mentioned on the Sky website?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Don't worry.

      Basically the link between your home and the exchange is just one part of the overall system. Between the telephone exchange and Sky's servers is a link which is able to take on much more capacity. This is known as the "backhaul".

      Around a year ago Sky's backhaul systems were upgraded to 10Gbit if memory serves me correctly. If a single link isn't enough, then a 2nd, 3rd, etc., link can be added.

      If there is insufficient capacity on the backhaul, the experience of all the people in a given area is that during peak times their connections appear to slow down. This has happened on many occasions and Sky's response has been to get an additional line installed as and when required. This can take a few months to complete though.

      as Scubbie says, the Backhaul is the link between the equipment in the exchange and Skys Main network.

      Bandwidth actually costs more per Mbit/s to deliver than you or I are being charged for our broadband. However not everyone will be wanting to download at full speed all the time, so the way to make it work financially is they sell more capacity to end users than they actually have this is where contention ratios come into play.

      The contention ratio is basically the Total Capacity sold vs actual capacity.

      Providing the ISP gets things right people will never normally notice because they take into account average usage + leave enough headroom to allow for X number of people downloading at full speed.

      It's usually when an area has abnormally heavy users or some promo causes an unexpected surge in new subscriptions they get caught out. Also sometimes major events that cause a temporary spike in traffic may or may not cause congestion depending on just how much headroom the ISP left.

      The difference in Peak vs Off-Peak traffic is hugely noticeable as well, see https://www.linx.net/pubtools/traffi...html?stats=day for the public stats from Linx (London internet exchange quite a significant chunk of domestic and UK > Europe traffic flows here.)


      It's also the same for most Utilities, if everyone suddenly turned on their tap there would be a problem, same with the phone system you can't all try and make a phonecall at the same time...

      That's actually one of the reasons a lot of these "unlimited" call plans on landlines say to hangup and redial after 60minutes to avoid charges, frees up the trunk circuit and gives someone else an opportunity to grab it.
      speedyrite likes this.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION