Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 65
    Like Tree6Likes

    Sky Upgrading Fibre Network Over Next Few Days

    This is a discussion on Sky Upgrading Fibre Network Over Next Few Days within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by dog-man Is there a difference between reset and reboot? I thought a reboot was needed to do ...

    1. #21
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Upgrading Fibre Network Over Next Few Days

      Quote Originally Posted by dog-man View Post
      Is there a difference between reset and reboot?

      I thought a reboot was needed to do a reset?


      dog-man
      A reset removes all you personal settings which survive either a software reboot or a power cycle/restart.

      The really should get their terms right.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Sky Upgrading Fibre Network Over Next Few Days

      Quote Originally Posted by speedyrite View Post

      Unlike other ISPs, Sky don't give any details of their network changes to customers. Hey we're probably lucky to be told they're doing anything at all! Presumably THEY know what they're doing though...
      Part of me thinks they were getting a lot of calls into c/s from people who woke up in the Morning to find their FTTC not working. Hence the sms's now going out




      Sent from my Phone using Tapatalk

    4. #23
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky Upgrading Fibre Network Over Next Few Days

      Quote Originally Posted by dragon2611 View Post
      Part of me thinks they were getting a lot of calls into c/s from people who woke up in the Morning to find their FTTC not working. Hence the sms's now going out

      Sent from my Phone using Tapatalk
      Agreed. I seem to recall an issue that affected some (but not all) Sky Hub users following a planned overnight maintenance on fibre a while back. Re the sms txts, I was wondering if they are doing things on a region by region basis over a period of days? I haven't had a text from them (yet). And no interruption of service (yet).
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    5. #24
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Sky Upgrading Fibre Network Over Next Few Days

      No Idea although I've seen quite a few interruptions in the early hours of the morning even before sky sent the SMS out.

    6. #25
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,651
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: Sky Upgrading Fibre Network Over Next Few Days

      No email for me yet.

      Do they always send and email?



      dog-man

    7. #26
      BrigadierA's Avatar
      BrigadierA is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ramsgate
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HB 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Upgrading Fibre Network Over Next Few Days

      I've been struggling with a "half speed" connection since I was setup a few weeks ago, but hadn't followed up with Sky due to being out of the country and a busy schedule. Well I saw the announcement and when I got home today thought I'd check my results. I was surprised to see that they're up where they should be now. Not sure if I've had an outage, but something has increased my speed!

      andrewjr likes this.
      ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
      www.HorrorDVD.co.uk
      The Best and Worst Horror Films Reviewed

    8. #27
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      317
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Upgrading Fibre Network Over Next Few Days

      May be down to this but I have had to reset my router (Sky Hub SR101) several times over the course of the day in order to get my connection back. When I sign into the router everything is fine but I can't load any pages over wireless or wired connections.
      stereohaven likes this.

    9. #28
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      317
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Upgrading Fibre Network Over Next Few Days

      Also noticed this in the log?

      Dec 7 16:13:48 syslog: BusyBox v1.17.2
      Dec 7 16:33:02 syslog: No lease renewal received
      Dec 7 16:50:08 syslog: No lease renewal received
      Dec 7 17:00:04 syslog: No lease renewal received
      Dec 7 17:04:38 syslog: No lease renewal received
      Dec 7 17:06:18 syslog: No lease renewal received
      Dec 7 17:07:50 syslog: No lease renewal received
      Dec 7 17:07:50 syslog: DHCP lease expired. -> DISCOVERY 3600
      Dec 7 17:07:52 syslog: Clear IP addresses. IP connection DOWN.
      Dec 7 17:07:54 syslog: eth0 - WAN link UP.

    10. #29
      stereohaven's Avatar
      stereohaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Asus RT-AC56U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 2TB Box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      495
      Thanks
      33
      Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Sky Upgrading Fibre Network Over Next Few Days

      Quote Originally Posted by itype View Post
      May be down to this but I have had to reset my router (Sky Hub SR101) several times over the course of the day in order to get my connection back. When I sign into the router everything is fine but I can't load any pages over wireless or wired connections.
      Exactly the same here. Got the text last night and 3 times I have had to reboot today due to the same problem. Internal network was still running fine (streaming to Apple TV), but couldn't access the net.
      itype likes this.

    11. #30
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      317
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Upgrading Fibre Network Over Next Few Days

      Might be the Fibre network updates then matbe. I'm still on hold on the phone for the next few minutes. At least I'm not the only person here.

     

     
    Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION