Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 65
    Like Tree6Likes

    Sky Upgrading Fibre Network Over Next Few Days

    This is a discussion on Sky Upgrading Fibre Network Over Next Few Days within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'll check mine when i get home!...

    1. #11
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Sky Upgrading Fibre Network Over Next Few Days

      I'll check mine when i get home!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Upgrading Fibre Network Over Next Few Days

      I think they are using 'Hub' as the generic term to describe the device connected to the Modem, be it the SR101 or the 2504N or whatever.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Sky Upgrading Fibre Network Over Next Few Days

      Received this as an SMS earlier this evening.

      Sky will be upgrading it's Fibre network over the next few nights. Please reset your router if you experience a loss of service. Thank you
      Interesting that they say Reset rather than reboot.

    5. #14
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,651
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: Sky Upgrading Fibre Network Over Next Few Days

      Is there a difference between reset and reboot?

      I thought a reboot was needed to do a reset?


      dog-man

    6. #15
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Upgrading Fibre Network Over Next Few Days

      I think they have chosen the wrong word.

      Turning it off and on would be better / more helpful imo

      Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    7. #16
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts

      Re: Sky Upgrading Fibre Network Over Next Few Days

      When mine went off the other night, I just pressed the reset button on the the back of the router.
      My Internet connection returned, and has been fine since then.

      Sent from my ST18i
      With sky since 1997.

    8. #17
      craig.millfields's Avatar
      craig.millfields is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Upgrading Fibre Network Over Next Few Days

      anything changed?

      Does anyone know what they are actually doing?

    9. #18
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      Quote Originally Posted by craig.millfields View Post
      anything changed?

      Does anyone know what they are actually doing?
      The only thing I've noticed the last day or so is that lease renewal period has gone back to 3600 (about every 30 mins). After the recent outage, I noticed that it dropped to 600 (about every 5 mins). Otherwise ping & speed here has remained about the same as it has been since day 1 (27/4/2012).

      Unlike other ISPs, Sky don't give any details of their network changes to customers. Hey we're probably lucky to be told they're doing anything at all! Presumably THEY know what they're doing though...
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    10. #19
      craig.millfields's Avatar
      craig.millfields is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Upgrading Fibre Network Over Next Few Days

      Well mine just went off, had to reset my E4200 (not sky hub), got a completely new IP, from an entirely new IP range. Also, routing has changed, Hop 2 (after my router) now responds to pings where it didnt before

      Ill update if I spot any other changes

    11. #20
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky Upgrading Fibre Network Over Next Few Days

      no changes in the last 2 days. my ping has stayed around the 15-17ms mark since the first network outage.

      also had a text from sky yesterday afternoon stating they were upgrading the network and may need to restart the router
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


     

     
    Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION