Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 24

    cabinet activated, infinity say yes, sky say no

    This is a discussion on cabinet activated, infinity say yes, sky say no within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; in case anyone is curious at this time sky fiber still not available, my infinity is to be installed within ...

    1. #11
      chrcol's Avatar
      chrcol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leics Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: 8800nl(bridge) + pfSense 2.4 N3150 unit + asus ac68 as WAP
      Sky TV: FreeSAT
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Leics
      Posts
      262
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: cabinet activated, infinity say yes, sky say no

      in case anyone is curious at this time sky fiber still not available, my infinity is to be installed within 2 days.

      So it does seem in my case sky are not activating the exchange super fast, but I will check it from time to time so other's know how long it takes.

      I just hope doing number checks isnt going to generate cold calls.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: cabinet activated, infinity say yes, sky say no

      Quote Originally Posted by chrcol View Post
      So it does seem in my case sky are not activating the exchange super fast, but I will check it from time to time so other's know how long it takes.
      BT started taking orders for infinity on my exchange 16/5/12 & i've been doing the same, just to see how long it can take.

      Pretty sure a forum member once posted that sky fibre was available for them the day after infinity went live, so it really does vary.

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: cabinet activated, infinity say yes, sky say no

      It will depend on if Sky have updated their exchange equipment. If they have it will be almost immediately after Infinity goes live, if they haven't, it could be many months. Unfortunately the Sky Advisers are not party to this information.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      chrcol's Avatar
      chrcol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leics Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: 8800nl(bridge) + pfSense 2.4 N3150 unit + asus ac68 as WAP
      Sky TV: FreeSAT
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Leics
      Posts
      262
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: cabinet activated, infinity say yes, sky say no

      My exchange does have the new sky equipment.

      On infinity now and am very happy, great service, will keep checking on sky out of curioisity.

      Is worth pointing out tho officially my exchange isnt even live yet on the openreach checker, this may have something to do with why sky also says no, infinity accepted my order whilst my exchange wasnt officially live.

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: cabinet activated, infinity say yes, sky say no

      My exchange does have the new sky equipment.
      ..and you know this how? Sky seem to keep their plans for exchanges top secret. Do you have access to a list of upgraded exchages? If so it would be nice if you would share.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      chrcol's Avatar
      chrcol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leics Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: 8800nl(bridge) + pfSense 2.4 N3150 unit + asus ac68 as WAP
      Sky TV: FreeSAT
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Leics
      Posts
      262
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: cabinet activated, infinity say yes, sky say no

      I know because I know people on sky on the exchange. I assume you mean the new msan equipment? Thats what I am reffering to, I have no idea when they plan to install a GEA link. Sky's decision to not reveal that information lost me as a customer as I wasnt going to sit around potentially waiting for months for them to decide to enable fiber.

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: cabinet activated, infinity say yes, sky say no

      Your exchange is still showing an RFS date of 31/12, so if BT are taking orders they appear to have one up on all the other suppliers, which isnt surprising.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      chrcol's Avatar
      chrcol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leics Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: 8800nl(bridge) + pfSense 2.4 N3150 unit + asus ac68 as WAP
      Sky TV: FreeSAT
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Leics
      Posts
      262
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: cabinet activated, infinity say yes, sky say no

      yep exchange isnt offically live yet

    10. #19
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,518
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: cabinet activated, infinity say yes, sky say no

      Quote Originally Posted by chrcol View Post
      yep exchange isnt offically live yet
      You say you know people on sky on the exchange. Do you mean with ADSL or FTTC? I would have thought that Sky would not be providing FTTC to customers on an exchange that is not officially accepting orders.

    11. #20
      chrcol's Avatar
      chrcol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leics Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: 8800nl(bridge) + pfSense 2.4 N3150 unit + asus ac68 as WAP
      Sky TV: FreeSAT
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Leics
      Posts
      262
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: cabinet activated, infinity say yes, sky say no

      adsl.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    LinkBacks (?)


    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION